Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Colorless Quartz Crystal Among Rubies, Onyx and Topazes
03-05-2003 E 5:05 p.m.
Maybe my dad is right, I have no life. At least, not when I look at friends' and my Texas relatives' lives. Compared to them, my life, or lack thereof, is staid and consists of one flavor--paper--and if it were a gemstone, it would be a colorless quartz crystal.

True, it's not really fair to compare your life to those of others, but in this instance, my comparison is apt and true. I feel like a calm lake compared to the swirling eddies of the lives of those around or of my Texas family. Or, to stick with the previous description, the colorless crystal amid a riotous rainbow of sapphires, rubies, onyx, emeralds and topazes. Nothing really is happening in my lil world, except homework, and like I've said before, how exciting is that? Not very. Just papers, papers, papers! And more papers until I'm surrounded by the product of dead trees.

Now, the lives of those around me however...to coin a phrase from Heather: "It's drama, drama, drama." She's in the midst of resolving things with *J*; and she's trying to work out some confusion over a new guy.

As for the Texas brood, they have a regular soap opera going on in between leaking glimpses of their redneck propensity to my grandparents' neighbors. My oldest aunt has led a wild life and is lovingly considered a flower child. Her youngest son and her ex-husband (the father of all three of her children and one of my favorite uncles) came to fisticuffs--her word--in Nan and Paw Paw's front yard over my cousin's drug use. My cousin Charity, also my oldest aunt's progeny, and her husband really need to get a divorce. He's abusive, but Charity hauls off and defends herelf. My uncle, because of this has threatened Joe with bodily harm if he harms Charity again or their three lil ones. I, myself, when I learned of this wanted to haul off and hit Joe for even hurting my cousin. Hey, I'm loyal, if nothing else.

So you see, amidst all this drama, my life, though a boring, colorless quartz crystal is relatively serene. Nonexistant. But if drama is living, I'm quite happy without it. 'Course, I have a sneaking suspicion this is not what Dad meant. In other words, he wants me out and about, amid people, having a job and social life. Well, that would be nice, but one dream at a time, right. Besides, it takes two or more to socialize... And I'll work on getting a job, as soon as I get a breath from papers.

Oh what fun life is...to be a colorless crystal among a rainbow of drama. It's odd being crazy yet the sane one in an even crazier group.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Insanity is often the logic of an accurate mind overtasked.
~Oliver Wendell Holmes~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE