Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Patience, I'm So Tired
08-04-2004 E 6:25 p.m.
Time is of the essence. The last few remaining survivors of the ill-fated expedition to the ancient city of the dead, Hamunaptra, are now holed up in the Museum of Antiquities at Cairo. Evelyn frantically looks at the gold tablets standing against one wall, trying to puzzle out the secret location of the Book of Life. Outside, under the hypnotic spell of the creature Imhotep and covered with boils and sores, one of Egypt's plagues, the crowd swarms the steps of the museum, pushing and beating against the barricaded doors. Adrenaline surges through everyone's veins, prey and predator alike. Those inside can feel precious seconds ticking by, lost forever.

"Hurry up, Evelyn!" O'Connell calls out impatiently to her as he watches the doors shudder beneath the weight of those without.

"Patience is a virtue!" she singsongs, all the while redoubling her efforts.

O'Connell swings his head incredibly towards her. "Not right now it isn't!" he counters.

~The Mummy (1999)~

Unfortunately for me, it has to be. I have no choice. Since almost a month ago, I've had to exercise patience in one way or another almost every day. What withIn the long run I'm not good with patience. I really don't think it's a virtue I possess. Although, sometimes I'm very good at hiding that fact. This past month, with one or two exceptions, has been a good example of me pretending that I do. *sigh and deep breath*

The dam broke just awhile ago, or I should say the storm loosed its rain finally, if I'm sticking to my weather analogy. I needed it. What soap is for the body, tears are for the soul, as they say. I feel...slightly more able to carry on, though still very vulnerable. And alone. But I've been in this spot before. Then, I had no one. I had to grit my teeth and soldier on, relying on myself, wishing I had someone--Milo or Heather or anyone--to lean on, to hold me and comfort me. Now, even though I feel stretched, I know I'll survive. I can't do any less. *one-shoulder shrug* I have no choice but to exercise more patience. To the maddening, uncertain end. Lord help me.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE