Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Watch Word: Hope
07-30-2004 E 4:09 p.m.
I can't believe July has slipped by so quickly! My month is about over! The entreprenuers are already having and airing "Back To School" sales and commercials. The old dread and rebellious "Nnnnoooo!" builds up within my soul still after so many years of entering classrooms, armed with notebooks, pens and pencils and other supplies a teacher or professor deemed necessary. But then reason restores my dubious sanity, bringing glee with the remembrance: I'm not in school anymore. I don't have to go! I'm free!
***********
Emotions have been running high this last week. Heather's insecurities and jadedness about a guy she's started liking. Kirk's insecurities and depression on his stagnant state in life. And of course, my trying to be the superglue that holds them together. And other things that have reminded me of my physical limitations. We were all filled with helplessness and hopelessness. One of us was jaded, a couple of us were down on love and all of us were depressed.

But today I was stopped in my tracks--cold. What with the yo-yoing with Kirk and finding out a few...unhappy truths...and dealing with a bone-headed ameoba named Beau, I have nearly wanted to give up totally on the male sex--with the exception of Milo, of course. Yet, today one word has stood out boldly in front of me. One word has been repeated a time or two and has even popped up earlier in the week. You could say it's this week's watch word. Hope.

I was reading my chosen comics when it arrested my attention. You can see for yourself why:

"Love is full of hope, it's hate that is hopeless." And it's so true! Sure, you're open to pain a lot more if you allow yourself to love, but you are so rewarded for your loving heart at the end. You will have wonderful experiences and lessons and be surrounded by those who will enrich your life greatly and who will leave warm, lasting and indelible impressions on your heart. But if you hate, if you let that dark emotion rule your existence, then you've shut yourself off from the rest of humanity. You've set yourself up for a lonely, solitary life. In essence, you've built yourself a dark prison. (And that's basically what Abe has done, Heather. What I don't want for you. Which is one reason why I'm so glad you had that talk with Brains.)

We cannot live without hope. It breathes life into dreams; it brings love and joy. It brings grace and salvation. It gives us wings and so much more. When I found this poem I knew today's entry had to be on Hope. And with it I will close...

Hope Is the Thing With Feathers
Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I've heard it in the chilliest land
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

~Emily Dickinson~



..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE