Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Tidbits of the Day
10-21-2003 E 4:54 p.m.
Oh wow! Today and tomorrow (as far as Dland is concerned) are milestones so to speak. This is my 600th entry. *smiles big* And tomorrow is my two year aniversary of Shiloh26! Yeehaw!
***********
I prioritized my time on the net today, squeezing things to look at regarding my story before I came here, and I did not allow myself to get distracted. The best news though is that the lady from the Daughters of the Republic of Texas replied back to me. She knows about the dress and some of the customs of that time period. She'll email me back with links and book titles that will help me. I'm so excited! Thanks, Stevieg, for your good luck.
***********
Well, you know how Mom likes to decorate for the holidays. She does it on a lesser scale for the other lesser holidays or seasons. But this year I guess I've paid more attention, or she's done more decorating for the fall and Halloween than she has for a few years because the house looks awesome. Especially the formal living room, which right now, is my favorite room. I call it the Halloween Room. She has about the room--in the bay and side windows and at opposite ends of the mantel--fiberglass(?) jack-o-lanterns with various faces that light up. On the mantel is a candelabra(sp?) decorated in a fall garland with white candles resting pristinely in their iron holders. Before the candelabra is a small village of pumpkin and "haunted" houses, some of which light up and some that don't. Then, on either side of the firescreen are two or three feet crafts. One is a cute stuffed scarecrow and his companion on the other side is a painted wooden witch dressed in purple, orange and black.

At night, with the lights turned off except for the muted orange glow of the jack-o-lanterns and assorted houses in that room, it's an awesome place to be. I love sitting there in that room, just looking at everything then looking up at the ceiling, where the different faces of the mantel jack-o-lanterns are thrown. There they meld and make unique orange-tinged shadows. Awesome is just the word for it. Being in that room I can feel the thrill and festivity of Halloween and I want to dress up in some out-of-this-world costume and go a-tricking.

P.S. Kumari Shanti, te amo mi amiga. No worries. Your fears are groundless; I wouldn't have been so impish or teasing you today if I felt as your Mom does. I would have tried to find a way to put it gently if I did or just come out and say, "I plead the 3rd!" *winks*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A life unexamined is not worth living.
~Socrates~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE