Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Literary Commentary
10-20-2003 E 3:41 p.m.
Ok, I get sidetracked more easily than I would like. And I seem to get put off more easily too from things I intend to do. These aren't realizations I like about myself, no siree.

I'm talking about my story. I am going for the Texas Republic/Revolution angle for my ghost, and I even thought up a first name fer her. Carnelian. She and her sisters will be named after jewels. Each day I intend to work on her background or do some reading on the history of the Republic or Revolution, but because I can no longer be on the net indefinitely the research gets pushed back as email and other things I come across attract my attention. Then there is the comment Nan made in a suggestion. She suggested I read Mitchner's Texas as part of my research--which I will.

Nan's comment was this, however: "The reason his books are so good is because he spent years researching his material so thoroughly."

She seemed to have the impression I wanted to do a cursory look into the history of that time only. I guess that's from my impatience *sheepish look* in wanting to know the history now! LOL. I get excited by an idear, and I want info now. But yeah, I know I won't be able to crank this baby out in a few days or months or even a year. I want to make this a product I'm proud of, even if it gets rejected by editors numerous times. Nan's comment gave me pause, making me consider how much I'm willing to put in to this endeavor of mine. And so I've laid off the looking or thinking of a story for the last few days.

But I want to do this. I want to see if I have what it takes. I want to see if I can engage people's minds and capture their interest like some of the better writers out there. I doubt I'll be another J.K. Rowling or Tom Clancy, but perhaps I can make a name for myself... I just need to prioritize my time on the net till we figure out why my line is not staying online, but why Dad's is.

I added a new favorite this weekend and I gave her everday journal a glance. Her latest entry was about Harold Bloom, a literary critic. She talked about how critical he is, how he makes literary hopefuls almost hate their best work because, against his standards of what Art is or should be, they fall miserably, hopelessly and pitifully into the very lowest depths of mediocrity. Even if by most other people's standards these hopefuls are good. He even denounced J.K. Rowling.

As I read her entry I began to think. This is not right. No one should be able to take such an attitude as to denounce or call new writers "hacks" or "wannabes." To me, what makes an author or book great is if the author and book can stand the test of time or can span generations. So...to heck with this guy, this so called, superior critic, Harold Bloom. I've never even heard of him. I am going to make this novel as great as I can. Wish me luck!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.
~Goethe~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE