Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Cut Off Without Warning
08-15--22-2002 E 9:16 p.m.
I don't know whether to scream with pent up frustration or do an Irish jig in celebration. And I can't believe summer's over. One day we have two weeks, the next we're sitting in a hotel room crowded 'round the tv watching The Mummy Returns on the eve before the kids' school starts. That Tuesday night was the most unusual end of summer that I can remember.

Actually this past week, starting with last Thursday, has been the most unusual end of any summer I've ever had to date. Remember that windstorm we had in early spring? Well, because we had such a hot summer and people wanted to install a/cs we were told our damaged wall couldn't be fixed until the first of this month. Well ok. And when Restoration could, they'd contact us so we could make preparations because we'd be without power for 24 hours.

Twenty-four hours my foot! As the date on my last entry testifies, it's been about eight days! We've been living at the Cotton Tree Inn since! But the thing that was most irksome besides poor sleeping at the hotel, was we had no warning. Mom was downstairs about to take a shower when someone pounded on our front door. It was men from the power company telling her they'd disconnected everything. Even our phones.

This whole thang has been an utter joke. The Restoration people, upon inspecting the wall, found that there was--no--foundation--under--that--wall. Only two wooden beams had been supporting it. Scary thought, huh? So they had to prepare and pour one, letting it cure for one day. And since the next day happened to be Saturday the rest had to wait until Monday. Even then things have gone awry, dragging our "paid vacation" out three more days. It has been a paid vacation in a sense because State Farm has said it'll reimburse us for all expenses incurred related to this: food, hotel, gas for the generator that has kept the fridge and freezer going...

It's been ok, and I haven't gone batty as people expected without access to this computer. Yes, I'm on this computer a majority of my time, but I am able to be without it for awhile. I just did other thangs...crosstitched, read or watched tv. Or sat out at a patio table in the center court (where the indoor swimmming pool is) under the skylights and crosstitched with Mom. It was an adventure to be sure, but I missed my bed. (I had lousy nights there at the hotel; I just couldn't find a comfortable position.)

But, now we have power back! *mad scientist look and laughter*

Let's see. There's more news. Michael is in the top platoon of his company and he thrives on the toughness of his training. LOL Jen said he was hoarse when they talked. He's quite the guy and we're proud of him.

As for the lil kitten or Lady Gray as I call her now, she seems to have adopted us. She hasn't gone back to wherever she came from. The parents have grudgingly accepted that fact and I think, if our neighbor's grandmother doesn't take her, we'll keep her. Which, after looking at her I think might best. She is skin and bones almost. I don't remember her being that thin when she first showed up. Ah well. Night, people.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"To think is to say no."

~Alain~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE