Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
My Favorite Things, Part 1: "Raindrops On Roses and Whiskers On Kittens"
04-14-2006 E 5:17 p.m.
Feeling-- blah
Reading-- Winds of Fate by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing

I hope Thom doesn't mind me copying him, but I think doing a miniseries on "My Favorite Things" sounds like fun at the moment. In fact, I'd been toying with the idea of doing one when I found his own series a month ago. Funny how, with all the different kinds of people there are on this Earth, and all the myriad ideas possible and those yet to be explored, many come up with the same or similar ideas.

Obviously, since I'm on my computer most everyday, almost all day, trying to write a creative piece, essay, poem or what have you a day, checking email, chatting and Googling things I either want or need to know, my computer and the Internet are two of my favorite things. Yes, indeed, I may not be as fascinated and obsessed with the Internet as I was when I was first introduced to it, but I've come to realize I rely on it heavily when I need to find out something. It's just so easy and less time-consuming--not to mention, less work--to go to a search engine like Google, to type in the keyword(s) or phrase(s) and hit Enter, then choosing the desired image or link. It's a bit disconcerting to think I've become that dependent upon a certain bit of technology.

While that's a bit sobering, I still am glad of and grateful for it. It's put me in touch with great writing opportunities in the cyber form of the Soul Food Caf� and great friends like Gwen, Lynda and Emma, people I would never have otherwise "met" if it hadn't been for the modern marvel of instant messaging. And come to think of it, I wouldn't know Heather now if it hadn't been for instant messaging (ie. Lynda finding me through ICQ).

Yes, I'm grateful for the Internet...and for my computer. The modern wonder of the computer has saved my hand from countless agonies and painful cramps and has allowed me to update this (my preferred form of a journal) at my leisure and for the length of time needed to finish an entry without my hand crying, "Uncle!"

And thanks to computer graphics programs like Paintshop Pro 7 and Adobe Photoshop, I can decorate my journal any ole way I please! =0D Not to mention, creating collages or other pictures unique to me. Like:


My Favorite Things
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad

Julie Andrews

  • My Favorite Things, Part 2: "Bright Copper Kettles and Warm Woolen Mittens"


  • ..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

    Recently Recorded...
    06-17-2006 E Good Bye
    06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
    06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
    06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
    06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

    moon phase



    FBorFW.com

    100 Books Club
    ArchivedE
    WrittenE
    TranscribingE
    An Angel's ProfileE
    DisclaimerE
    Who's WhoE
    Extra ScrollsE
    DiarylandE
    Live C.P.E
    Email From HeavenE
    Angel NotesE
    My GuestbookE
    Fairy TalesE
    Voice On DisabilitiesE
    My Alluvial MineE
    The Silk RoadE
    The Faraway TreeE
    Viewing ChildhoodE
    I Wonder WhyE
    Essays On LoveE