Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
My Favorite Things, Part 2: "Bright Copper Kettles and Warm Woolen Mittens"
05-06/07-2006 E 3:54 p.m.
Feeling--languid
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing

Here are some more of my favorite things... I've been thinking about what to list in this second installment and books and movies easily came to mind. I am, after all, a voracious bookwoom and a die-hard movie buff. These two pass-times, besides being on the computer and the Internet, could keep me happily occupied for hours. In fact, the way I like to end a day is to read several chapters of whatever book I happen to be currently reading. It's a habit I was pushed into at ISU when the ole homework load was so great the only time I could read for pleasure was at night after I'd been put into bed.

As for the movies, my parents are movie buffs too, so they were the ones who instilled a love for movies in me. You should see the one wall to the right of my doorway (coming out of my room). It's a floor-to-ceiling bookcase filled--completely--with movies of all kinds:

People almost always comment on our movie wall, and are almost always impressed by it.

I figured I'd show you at least five of my favorite books and movies, either of all-time or currently. Let's see if you're gonna be surprised by some of my choices or not. Probably not, at least any regulars I have I doubt will be.

BOOKS
���

This is the story of Corlath, golden-eyed king of the Free Hillfolk, son of the sons of the Lady Aerin.

And this is the story of Harry Crewe, the Homelander orphan girl who became Harimad-Sol, King's Rider, and heir to the Blue Sword, Gonturan, that no woman had wielded since the Lady Aerin herself bore it into battle.

And this is the song of the kelar of the Hillfolk, the magic of the blood, the weaver of destinies...
(from the back cover)


���

The demon lover
The Highland villagers warned that Black Broch was no place for a foreign visitor, but Caitlin Montgomery paid their fearful mutterings no heed, for something in those broken stones spoke to her soul. It was as if the ruined castle were a gateway to the world of the ancient ones, the fairies and demons that had once ruled this land.

And then a dark figure rode down from the mist-shrouded ruins and carried her away, into that lost world of myth and legend. The one called Bain Morghue was so compelling, so powerful, that it was hard to believe he was truly of this world. But the fear he inspired in her--and the passion he awakened in her--were all too real...
(from the back cover)


���

"I could not help it: the restlessness was in my nature; it agitated me to pain sometimes."
Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman's passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.

With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bront�'s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.
(from the back cover of the Penguin Classics edition)


���

Four Weddings and a Fairy Godmother
Only a storybook affair like the marriage of Cindy Ella Jones and Princeton Chalmers could lead to three such tangled romances--and happily-ever-after endings:

Belinda
Kidnapped from the wedding party, the lonely beauty would learn how a little love can tame a wild beast--even one as intimidating as Cain Derlin, the handsome recluse.

Lilith
Thrown together with Frank Henson, a seemingly soft-spoken security guard, self-absorbed Lilith would have to learn that, with love and respect, there's a prince waiting behind every toad.

Roberta
The shy redhead's heart had been broken by a wicked wolf once before--and now that Maximillian Wolfe had shown up at the wedding she was determined to get to her grandmother the big bad Frenchman could hurt her again.
(from the back cover)


���

(I cannot get to the book right now for the description, but it is a great book, trust me. It's a story within a story, the echoes of a romance between a Spanish princess and an American sea captain reaching through the years to touch the lives of their descendants and the women they love. It's a mystery and a race to find a precious--and valuable--family heirloom. It's the story of a healing heart.)

MOVIES
���

After returning from the war, Paul and a young woman meet on a bus as she's headed home from college to help with the grape harvest and face her Old World domineering dad. The woman has not married but is pregnant and she thinks her father is going to kill her. Paul proposes to pose as her husband to help her face her father. When their passion for each other is finally ignited and explodes, they realize they must overcome all odds to be together.

(This description doesn't do this movie justice, but once again, I cannot reach my DVD to transcribe the decription on the back.)


���

The greatest adventure history has ever revealed.
Ever since he was a boy, Benjamin Franklin Gates has been obsessed with finding the legendary Knights Templar Treasure, the greatest fortune known to man. As Gates tries to find and decipher ancient riddles that will lead him to it, he's dogged by a ruthless enemy who wants the riches for himself. Now in a race against time, Gates must steal one of America's most sacred and guarded documents--the Declaration of Independence--or let it, and a key clue to the mystery, fall into dangerous hands. Heart-pounding chases, close calls and the FBI turn Gates' quest into a high-stakes crime caper and the most exciting treasure hunt you've ever experienced.


���

Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?
Based on the 1930's comic strip, this film, starring Alec Baldwin, puts the hero up against his arch enemy, Shiwan Khan, who plans to take over the world by holding a city to ransom using an atom bomb. Using his powers of invisibility and "The power to cloud men's minds," the Shadow comes blazing to the city's rescue with explosive results.


���

Desire. Defy. Escape.
With the sudden death of her loving father, Danielle is made a servant by her new stepmother. She also has two new stepsisters, one quite kind but the other one really horrid. Still, Danielle grows up to be a happy and strong-willed young lady, and one day her path crosses that of handsome Prince Henry, who has troubles of his own at home. Luckily the nice Leonardo da Vinci is on hand to help all round.


���

He didn't want to be a hero. He only wanted a job.
To be a librarian, you must master the Dewey Decimal System, ace internet research and, if you're new librarian Flynn Carsen, save the world! A fun, fantastical, special effects-laden adventure that soars around the world from the Metropolitan Library to the Amazon jungle to the Himalayas. Geeky Carsen lands a job as the Librarian, keeper of such top-secret Met treasures as Excalibur and Pandora's Box. Then the Serpent Brotherhood, seeking world domination, steals one of three parts of the magical Spear of Destiny from the library. Only Flynn, aided by a gorgeous bodyguard, has the knowhow to thwart their plan. But does he know how to be a hero? He will--even if he has to gouge, kick, punch, brave Mayan death traps and plunge off icy precipices every inch of the way!


My Favorite Things
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad

Julie Andrews

  • My Favorite Things, Part 1: "Raindrops On Roses and Whiskers On Kittens"


  • ..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

    Recently Recorded...
    06-17-2006 E Good Bye
    06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
    06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
    06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
    06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

    moon phase



    FBorFW.com

    100 Books Club
    ArchivedE
    WrittenE
    TranscribingE
    An Angel's ProfileE
    DisclaimerE
    Who's WhoE
    Extra ScrollsE
    DiarylandE
    Live C.P.E
    Email From HeavenE
    Angel NotesE
    My GuestbookE
    Fairy TalesE
    Voice On DisabilitiesE
    My Alluvial MineE
    The Silk RoadE
    The Faraway TreeE
    Viewing ChildhoodE
    I Wonder WhyE
    Essays On LoveE