Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Couple of Vents, Sorry
05-08-2006 E 5:37 p.m.
Feeling--a bit irked
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing

Bear with me folks, please, for I'm afraid this is a venting day. I've just got a couple things to get off my chest and out of my system before I can go on, before these things get shoved into my Pandora's Box, adding to whatever negativity is already inside. Before they're built upon as well, till the negativity is no longer containable and it bursts free like lava from a volcano.

I'm discovering if I write and think through whatever it is that is bothering me I move on more quickly, and it is healthier for me emotionally and the less I dwell on things in general that irk or depress me.

Vent 1
I would just like to say (to those who-shall-not-be-named)--Don't tell me how I'm feeling, especially that I'm mad or upset when I know DANG well I'm not. If there's anyone who should know exactly what I'm feeling, don't you think the best person to know that would be ME? I'm usually a person who, while I can get impatient or pensive or snippy sometimes and quite emotional, who readily admits to a Celtic temperment, doesn't flare up so easily. But once I do, the people around me know it. There is absolutely no doubt left in their minds. As there won't be any doubts left in yours when I blow up at some point around you. So, don't tell me I'm mad or upset; if I am, there'll be unmistakeable signs: glares, sharp verbal shots and digs, yelling or an ultra-quiet tone of voice. And just as a warning: you'll get to see me lose my temper and get angry if you continue to tell me I'm angry or upset when I'm not. This is yet another pet peeve of mine. One last time...don't do this.

Vent 2
I don't want to vent about work and be like those bloggers who get fired because they were indiscrete about their boss or co-workers on their blogs. This second vent really isn't about work, but is in conjunction with what happened at our first Determined To Vote presentation.

Only three people came to our presentation, and they were the three I personally invited. We made 14 flyers and put them up around the community and made sure the two job skills workshops for the disabled in our area knew about it. When no one else seemed to be showing up for our voters' education seminar, Mother called the two workshops to see if the buses were on their way with people. She was told no one was interested and so they weren't sending anybody over.

"Their loss," I flippantly replied, without thinking. Not very professional of me, I know, but it's still true.

We were warned at our training that not many people would be willing to come. Politics and voting aren't a very popular topic and activity. But...*holds up index finger* it's (voting) a very serious and important one. In fact, voting is a preservative of ALL the rights we Americans have. And it gives us the power to shape our present and future. It gives us a voice to say, yes we want this man, or this woman, as our leader. Or, no way! We don't want this person in office. Or, this law is stupid, it violates our Freedom of Speech!

I have to admit I was arrogant in thinking we'd have a good crowd. So yes, I was quite irked when we didn't. I'd been so sure some of the disabled people over at the two workshops would want to come. I really can't blame people for not wanting to come to something like this though, because it's not a "hot" topic. Nevertheless, it's something that gives us power. The power to be informed, the power to affect our community, our county, our nation and those around us. It gives us a voice that citizens of some countries do not have.

How sad that many of us do not take full advantage of this privilege, for as I've said, it is a preservative of all rights. We are lacking and are neglectful as citizens by not not participating in this privilege. And what first irked me about our sad attendance last Wednesday was that this (voting) is something that even us who are disabled can have a part in. There are several ways, if the polling places aren't accessible, that disabled citizens can vote. And here in Idaho, even if you have a guardian, you can still vote--unless a court order says otherwise.

Many disabled people I've known through the years have sought to live as "normally" and as independently as their individual disabilities allowed. Voting is one more thing they're able to do. That moves them closer to being an active, productive and participating citizen. I would think they would explore every avenue possible to reach this end, even that of voting. But Wednesday I was wrong.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE