Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Youthful Voice Is Not Necessarily an Asset
04-22-2004 E 5:44 p.m.
You wanna hear something amusing yet irritating for me? 'Course you do!! Who wouldn't? I have a young sounding voice.

No major revelation there, I know. But while this helps keep my youth about me and should be a delightful thing, this fact (which was pointed out by Mom--that my voice is young) is quite irksome at times.

Why? Because when I answer the phone and need to or ask to take a message, *pauses to gauge the percentage* maybe 55-60% of the time people refuse to leave their name, their number or a message. This might not sound like a big deal, as there are people who refuse to leave a message if they cannot talk to the desired person. However, for those who read me quite regularly, you might remember me talking about the speech impediment I have.

Thus, until I was made aware of the fact I have a youthful voice I always just assumed that when people refused to leave messages with me it was because of the speech impediment, or the false correllation between it and mental retardation. Oops, she has a speech impediment, therefore she must be mentally retarded.

Um...not true. So, as you can see I got quite irritated or angry with these No-names, because from experience, obviously they thought I was inept or not the right person to leave a message with.

It never occurred to me that it could be another reason altogether. It's still voice-related, but at least it's not disability-related.

In a way it's flattering, that people think I'm so youthful, but it's irritating at the same time. People, now I'm beginning to understand and see, think I'm a child who's answered the phone. And they don't want to speak with a child; they want to speak with someone who's "responsible." Mom jokingly suggested after it happened again this afternoon that I start identifying myself as "the Blackburns' 28-year-old daughter" or "So-and-so's 28-year-old sister" before asking to take a message. *rolls eyes*

Either way, it's my voice that gets me every time.


Things I said six months ago are inadmissable. Comments made are null and void after seven days.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE