Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Speech Impediment Doesn't = Mental Retardation
01-10-2003 E 3:27 p.m.
I'll make no bones about it, I have a bit of a speech impediment. I can still be understood, but I doubt for many it's pleasant to hear. Heck, even though to my own ears I sound like everyone else--which I'm thankful for--I cringe sometimes when I hear my own voice recorded. That's why I try avoiding talking to cam corders or tape recorders or even recording a message on my answering system on my phone.

For the most part people haven't made a big deal about it when around me, many have acted as if I'm no different than them. But there have been a few small-minded individuals who've unwittingly let on or have come right out and said I sound like a mentally retarded person, because in their estimation those individuals speak with a speech impediment. One lawyer who was commissioned to defend a friend in a sanity hearing made that comment to me over the phone when he called to make sure I was an appropriate person for her to stay with till she was admitted to a mental hospital. Boy, was my grandmother boiling mad when she found out. She called him up from Texas and chewed him out. The others just...ffaaddded away or quit talkin' to me altogether.

It has bothered me, this behavior some people use to extricate themselves from an association with me, but I've gotten used to it. I know there'll be others throughout my life with the same blasted behavior however much I hope otherwise, and there'll be nothing I can do if they choose not to get to know me. Sad yes, as I've never really had a hard time with the knowledge that I do have a speech impediment.

The speech impediment has been the least of my frustrations in regards to my disability; but in recent months because of more small-minded people it has been the source of amusement and irritation for me. No, I correct myself--the simple creatures have been the source actually, and my speech merely the cause. For whenever I've answered the phone--either my phone or the house phone--and it's been a telemarketer or Jon and Aubree's boss, Tanna, they act like I'm a lil kid or obviously mentally retarded. In Tanna's case, she asks for Jon or Aubree first then if they're not there, she asks for Mom.

"She's not here either," I say. "But may I take a message?"

"Um...no. I'll try back later, thanks." and she hangs up on me before I can even finish the word "goodbye." Small-minded person.

Twice now, I believe, she has done that to me and so has another person who isn't a telemarketer. In the span of a week or two this type of experience happened so much it was to the point where I was ready to tell off the next person who made the asinine assumption I was retarded just because of my speech. I was going to ask them if the reason they weren't leaving a message was because they just didn't want to or because they figured I'm mentally not all here. And if that was the case, let me assure them that I'm perfectly capable of taking and passing on messages. I'm just as intelligent as they are; I'm a college student getting my B.A. in journalism and I'm about to graduate. Just because I have a speech problem does not mean I am retarded!

The amusing side to it is an example of last night. Some MCI dude called asking for my "mom or dad." When asked when they'd be home after I purposefully said they weren't, I lied again and said I didn't know. LOL. It's (my impediment) a good tool to use to get rid of telemarketers. Either that or play dumb and I am a few marbles short. But really, if I'm to get anywhere in this world on my own merit, I have to fight for it and prove it. Sometimes my family thinks I can be lax about a few things, such as not wearing shoes for a quick trip to zee grocery store, but nuh uh. I strive to make myself presentable and intelligent.

********
I skipped an entry from Thoughts of a Writer... yesterday because the entry was just on the 2000 election. Nothing exciting there. This one is not much more exciting, but it reminds me how so much has changed yet one thing remains constant. Both Stephen and Evan are gone, won't even talk to me (oh boo hoo, so sad--NOT!), but I think that no matter that I am willing to leave the past behind and begin to move on, the past will, from time to time, sneak up on me and spin me about to face it.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
When the people of the world all know beauty as
� � beauty,
There arises the recognition of ugliness.
When they all know the good as good,
There arises the recognition of evil.
~Lao-tzu~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE