Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Yellowstone In June
07-01-2003 E 4:51 p.m.
I can't believe it's July already. By Friday the summer will be a little more than halfway over. Unbelievable--yet time ever marches on. Already it's time to archive my older page, but I haven't thought of a word or phrase that sums up the last three months months of my life. Ah well, guess I'll do that tomorrow.

So. Yas wanna know about our trip to Yellowstone...

It was a blast. But word to the wise: If you are lucky enough to remember everything you need, chances and the probability of you doing so are too good to be true. Since Sunday, upon discovering three bites I have been fighting a losing battle with a no-scratching policy. I forgot mosquito repellent.

We also fergotted binoculars. A pity too. Almost immeadiately upon entering the boundaries of the park we spied an eagle's nest up on a high wooden pole. Ahead of us read "Bald Eagle Point." So we figure it was a Bald Eagle! Wouldv'e been pretty neat if we coulda confirmed our assumption. (This was Friday, btw.)

Then we got out near Artist Point to stretch our legs and walk the trails to Artist Point. Uh...did I say "walk the trails?" I meant hike the trails. But even so, there was no way we could've made it to the Point. The trails we took--now remember, I'm in a wheelchair so we had to stay on the easier and less daunting tracks--were rocky in places and so steep it took the three of them (Natashja, Kjerstina and Aubree) to push the rented manual up the slopes and to hold it back to keep it from barreling down and careening off the track. Boy, that was an experience; a kind of frightening rush. One guy saw them struggling to get over a bump, and I think he jokingly suggested, "Why don't take the breaks off? That might work."

"They're already off," either Natashja or Aubree responded as the three of them leaned into pushing me over the obstruction.

We saw mostly elk and buffalo while we were at the park. After awhile it got to be a challenge for us to spot any new animal, other than the myriad elk and buffalo. Kjerstina wanted to see grizzlies and Natashja was hoping to see a moose. I thought it would be awesome to spot a wolf or coyote, but never did it happen. We saw four grizzlies the next day, but that's getting ahead of myself.

Our cabin turned out to be $43 instead of $60. And man alive, you knew it was worth only that just by looking at it as you came into the main room. It was really a two room cabin with a short hallway leading to the door. They had to rearrange the furniture just so I could make it into the living space! The walls and ceiling had chipped plaster, there were only three lights to light the interior and one of them was about to fall off the wall! And, as we all figured, there was no tv. So, after fours of waiting to check in--we were supposed to be able to check in at 2:00, but our cabin wasn't ready till after six--settled in and had dinner. Having been in a car packed with our junk most of the day, we were in no hurry to go back out--minus the junk--so we played Harry Potter pictionary until we felt like exploring a bit more. In the of waiting for our lil cabin, we explored the shops of Canyon Village and bought souveniers. I bought myself a stuffed animal--a white buffalo with a blue ribbon with the letters "Yellowstone Park" around his neck. He's so cute!

I think I will break off here and finish tomorrow. It's a good place.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If you're happy, why not notify your face?


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE