Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
There Should Be a Sign: Window Shopping Dangerous!
11-23-2002 E 5:59 p.m.
Well, I slpurged at least $14 on myself, now that I have a lil extra money. (No Internet bill, ha!) I bought High Spirits the movie from amazon.com and a book freom eHarlequin. I was in an historical mood.

But I tell ya, I don't know which is more dangerous or tempting, regular window shopping or online window shopping. The first way the objects are there in front of you, just sending mental pleas to your brain and urging your fingers to pick them up and put them in your cart. The only way you can escape such sweet temptation in this aspect is to leave your wallet or purse at home! However, if you're online window shopping I think you may be in greater peril. You're apt to find more things you can't find in stores. And you can't conveniently leave your credit card or checkbook at home. You are at home!

I was searching through amazon.com for a movie because I noticed it had the soundtrack available: Thoroughly Modern Millie. I love that show. It's a crack-up, and Julie Andrews does a bang up job. It only had it in DVD and wasn't going to release it until March of 2003. I don't have a DVD player--my parents do, but I don't. So I put that thought on hold.

I then moved on to finding a book in a series I've been interested...Once Upon a... Rose...Dream...Castle. The latest is Once Upon a Kiss. They're anthologies. They're cute, short, fun, magical. Flipping through the ads in the back of the book I realized I missed one. The first one. So I googled Once Upon a Rose and came to Barnes&Noble's site. I joined them too and added the book to my wishlist there. I noticed they also dealt with videos and DVDs, so on a hope I looked up Thoroughly Modern Millie. And lo and behold, they had it!!! And in VHS no less! *can tell they're thrilled for her* I wanted both, but Millie more so very badly. But, I've already splurged on myself this month.

Which in a way is ironic because I found the temptation test Heather mentioned. It says I'm a hedonist. I think if I am, I'm a very mild one. I mean it says I cain't say no to pleasure. What do you think I did today? I have five thangs in carts stored for later, and six more on a wishlist! But this proves my earlier point. Whether online or in actual stores, window shopping is dangerous to your bank account. Online you have to have the willpower to say "not yet" or "later." Or have someone promise to hold on to your credit card till the craze passes. LOL. That's the only way besides leaving your stuff at home to save you and your bank account from yourself.

But the fun doesn't have to stop there. Here's where my eccentricity comes in: when my "gifts" get here, I'm going to wrap them, minus the receipt, and say one's from Mrs. C and the other from Santa. Hey, why not? It's been a long time since Mrs. C's sent anything for me along with that jolly ole elf. I keep telling y'all, I'm weird.

******
Getting back to Google and search engines in particular, I checked my stats yesterday. Somebody found me through Lycos search by typing 'bruised knuckles.' Odd huh? Very odd in my opinion, since I've never talked of bruised knuckles in my journal. I wonder if they were twisted or kinky or looking for a medical remedy to ease the pain? *will never know*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"Oh, the weather outside is frightful,
But inside it's so delightful
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!"

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE