Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
They Need to Understand What It's Like
12-27-2002 E 4:39 p.m.
I changed my profile again.

Our tree is dead, dead, dead. The branches are drooping so much they're almost vertical, thus the ornaments and tinsel are sslloowwwly sliding off. 'Course that's what you get when the tree goes up the day or two days after Thanksgiving. It still smells divine, but it's so sad to look at: tired and dead. But oh, it was glorious to look at in the beginning. Full and stately, it was one of our better trees in years. But, it's to be taken down before New Year's.

I hate to gripe two days in a row, but gosh my family can be so annoying in their eagerness to help me. Yes, I'm disabled; I have Cerebral Palsy. But that doesn't mean I completely helpless. And no, they don't really treat me as if I am, but sometimes they go overboard in their eagerness or they forget I'm capable of doing this or that.

Yes, it's nice they help, but it would be much more appreciated if they waited to see if I needed help, either waiting for me to ask for help or them asking me if I could use an extra hand.

Aubree's the worst one in not waiting to see if I could use assistance. She's so eager to help that she forces it on me, a lot of the time brushing away my insistent "No thank you, I can do it(s)" and performing the task herself. It makes me feel so useless and like someone who's totally incapable of doing anything. I know that's not her purpose, but still...that's the result she creates.

I just wish they could remember I like having what independence I do have. MSN booted me a lil earlier and so I was checking the connection to the Internet on Dad's computer (his is proxy to mine, remember?) and had to move the chair outta the way. Aubree saw me and very impatiently, sauntered over, offering her assistance in a patronizing way. Snatching the chair outta my hand, she bodily pushed her way to the keyboard, edging me out. Of course, my temper ignited and when Mom asked what was going on, Aubree told her I was acting ungrateful for her help.

Excuse me? Who grabbed the chair out of whose hand? Who patronized who, and who treated who as if she were a fumbling child? Did I ask for help? No. Who's been doing the checking and getting on the Internet when no one's been about? I have. If I need help I'll ask for it, but at least let me try first! Surely that isn't asking for too much?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.
Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.
~Psalms 34:13�14~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE