Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
What Do You Hear?
11-01-2002 E 10:41 p.m.
November. Eesh, I better bone up on the Roman goddesses for my next article. My deadline is the 13th unfortunately. And my memory of the great goddesses isn't what it used to be.

I know it's late and if you're reading this close to the time this is posted, then I'm sure you're tired as all get out. But just take a moment and listen around you. Turn your tv or CD player off and just listen. If you're reading this during the day, if you can, take five minutes from your busy schedule as well and just listen. What do you hear?

I hear varying degrees of silence. If I sit still long enough and quit typing...I hear my own breathing above Jon's computer game in the distance, the ticking of the clock on my wall, the hum of the computer, the house as it settles even more comfortably on its foundation.

People equate silence with the lack of noise. To a point that's true. But is it ever really silent wherever we are? Away from the hubbub of the city it's supposed to be silent, right? What about the cacophony(sp?) of insects, night animals--coyotes and such? People think the country quiet, but is that (the insects and animals) considered quiet? What is silence then? People also forget they attach traits to silence: dead silence, a comfortable silence, a palpable silence. Without consciously knowing it I think we recognize silence isn't complete. Oh, it may be quiet wherever we are, but underneath that fine veiling are sounds that never quite stop. A breeze rustles through the leaves. The crickets chirp as the sun sets beyond the horizon leaving fingers of brillant pink, peach and lavender that deepen into twilight. You're so scared from a nightmare or of someone who's after you, you can feel as well as hear your heart beating in the silence you surround yourself with in trying to listen for the adversary.

So, now that you're really listening, what do you hear?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All the world's a stage,
And all the men and women merely players:
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts,
His acts being seven ages.
~William Shakespeare~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE