Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
What a Day
04-17-2002 E 10:04 p.m.
Actually, I should say what a week. The snow did continue into the next morning, but eventually stopped. Yet it was enough to get class canceled. Yay!! Mom asked me if I was fibbing. I mean c'mon, I've had more classes canceled this semester than in my entire college career previously. It hasn't seemed natural. But there you go.

We ended up with 10 inches of snow. Can you believe it? And down South my grandmother was running her air conditioner. But I also heard Texas got hit by tornadoes. So really everybody's been hit by severe storms in places.

That's not all, my friends. Because of the sudden cold weather we've needed our furnace. But when we tried turning it on, it wouldn't work! We've been without a furnace for a day and a half. *shivers* We--Mom and I--have been huddling in the back rooms with fleece throws as they have been the warmest, thanks to the room heater Mom had the presence of mind to dig out.

It doesn't end there. This afternoon Aubree came home from school in a much elevated state of excitement, shouting my name. "Shiloh! Shiloh!"

Annoyed at her noise because it had been peacefully quiet moments before, I started to answer, but Mom cut me off. Aubree, seeing I wasn't coming quickly enough to suit her, came back dragging a cardboard packing box. It had a silver metallic bow at one corner. "Look at what someone left on the porch!" she cried. From it she withdrew the cutest lil black kitten, mewling.

Of course this started a stew pot of emotions within everybody gathered about. Kami and Aubree wanted to keep him. I fell in love, its cries stirring the maternal instinct in me. It's big enough that humans could have it as a pet, but yet we believe it's barely been weaned. It was mewling like it was missing its family. It would cuddle up to Aubree's soft, cushy nightgown she had brought down to wear in order to hold him, in an effort to comfort him. She left it on the couch and the kitten curled up in the part where the nightgown was bunched like a lil valley, falling asleep. In the meantime we had tried to feed him, but he would take very little.

As for Mom she was mad at whoever left him on our doorstep. After Stockings, she doesn't want another emotional attachment to a cat. She had Aubree take the kitten to people in the ward to see if they wanted the poor baby. None could take or would take him. So Aubree brought the lil one home and Mom called everyone she knew who might be willing to take him in. None could or would. Finally Mom called the animal services of the police department. They agreed to meet us at the animal shelter (not the pound where we got Oreo) where they would take it to a care facility--or maybe it was the care facility they were going to meet us at? Anyways, the facility would care for it and put him up for adoption. If he wasn't adopted, then the facility would adopt him. Which was a relief because at the pound it's not the cleaniest or healthiest place for animals. After Oreo we didn't want to have to send a helpless creature there in the possibility of him getting sick and dying.

But he was saved. Mike and Jen came by. Jen wanted him. We kept him while they went to get supplies and food for the lil one. *smiles* He was starting to relax at suppertime and was even getting playful. I ran my fingers across and over the sofa's armrest by which he lay. His lil head followed and he even sat up and "tagged" my finger. So we'll get to see him. *bigger smile* They might name him Salem.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All men die. Not all men die bravely.

~Braveheart~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE