Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The War Within Us
01-22-2003 E 2:26 p.m.
Gah, I hate how one lil stroke of the wrong key can mess up an entry! But thankfully this one that I'm redoing was mostly saved. So, without further ado, here's the original entry...

Sorry this has to be a quickie and not a traditional entry in that I relate what happened today, but I need to hurry. Kjerstina is coming today and I was thinking about doing a bit of analyzing on the poem "Descent of Inanna" before she comes, so I won't have a lot to do Friday and Saturday.

Dad brought home some interesting emails yesterday from work. One of them is similiar to a poem my adviser has on her wall that I want a copy of, but in getting the message across this short email will do.

An elderly Cherokee is telling his grandson about a fight that is going on inside him. He said it is between two wolves.

Wolf One: Anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority and ego.

Wolf Two: Joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, "Which wolf wins?"

The elderly Cherokee simply replied, "The one I feed."

In the version my adviser has the good wolf is an eagle, able to soar above the vices that bog humanity down. The point is there is a war going on inside us, and whichever side wins or comes out the stronger each day is the one we feed. I like this concept because it describes our complex nature, reminding us also that each day we have new choices and it's a constant battle which we must ever be aware of. And really, we can personalize this analogy to any two animals we identify with the most with the qualities listed above. For me the snake represents the negative qualities, and the eagle--a golden eagle--represents the good qualities.

Which animals represent you?


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE