Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Time of Your Life
02-21-2004 E 1:05 p.m.
I'm taking a page out of Star-Heart's journal today. She heard Green Day's Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) on the radio and it struck a chord in her. Reading the lyrics myself I realize there is truth in them.
Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road.
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go.
So make the best of this test, and don't ask why.
It's not a question, but a lesson learned in time.

It's something unpredictable, but in the end is right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs and still frames in your mind.
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time.
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial.
For what it's worth, it was worth all the while.

It's something unpredictable, but in the end it's right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It's something unpredictable, but in the end it's right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It's something unpredictable, but in the end it's right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

Green Day

What I get from these lyrics is life (or time) is short and we'd better make the best of it. And hope we have had the time of our lives.

Time does seem to grab us by the wrist and direct us where to go--that is, unless we squandor(sp?) it. Time (or life) waits for no man, or woman. At each milestone in our lives there often is that proverbial fork in the road. And like Star-Heart, a couple members in my family are rapidly approaching their own forks in the road. Kami is going to be coming home from CEU in April or May and has a few decisions to make regarding whether or not to continue with school or to just try and get into beauty or cosmotology school.

Then there is Jon. As I've said before Jon is a senior this year. He still has a year before he can put his mission papers in. In the meantime our parents want him to go to college in zee fall. But I firmly get the impression he'd rather work and earn more moolah for his mission and future. So he has that decision to make.

As for me, I better decide what my next long-term step is and get going on it. I may be doing small things like the web design site and my book (which I really need to get going on again), but they're just...projects. They won't lead me to an apartment of my own or a job. Yet I'm like Heather once was. I'm in my comfort zone and I really don't want to muster the courage to get back out on my own just yet. But I need to. If I continue on in this way, I'll be squandoring my own precious time, my own life. And when I stand before the Great Judge on Judgment Day I have no wish to watch disappointing or boring (or even sinful or hurtful) moments from my life flash across the sky or wall or whatever is used in the Afterlife as a screen. I want to say I lived well and full and found fulfillment. I want the Judge to say, "You did well, Shiloh, and I am well pleased."

Instead of living by the old Biblical adage: "Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow we shall die," we should follow Green Day's advice and ...make the best of this test, and don't ask why./It's not a question, but a lesson learned in time./So take the photographs and still frames in your mind./Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE