Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Thursday Thirteen: 13 Pet Peeves of Mine
04-27-2006 E 12:00 p.m.
Feeling--unsettled
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing

Thirteen Pet Peeves of Mine

I'm afraid this week's "Thursday Thirteen" is going to reflect my current attitude of the moment, which seems to be lasting the entire week unfortunately. Once again, this morning someone showed how unthinking and stupid people can be, but that is neither here nor there now. It's just another reason my current ire is persisting. Without further ado:

1) Stupid people (I've been finding out--and this is the main reason for my current bwitchiness--that I've no tolerance for stupid people. They irk me no-end.)

2) People tapping my head with their finger, or petting it as if I were a pet dog or cat (I hate this; I have for years, since my stepdad, for whatever reason, started doing this. I don't know why I hate it so much, but I'm guessing it's psychological. Something to do with being lower [ie. being in a wheelchair] than most everyone else, and the psychological "view angles": looking up versus down.)

3) Racism

4) Sexism

5) Disablism and all the other --isms that fall under predjudice (Disablism is actually a new word for me. I learned it from Emma, who found out May 1st is going to be the first(?) Disablism Day.)

6) Double standards (This one really burns me up. Has ever since I was a kid. My parents had/have these and they drive me insane! I know life isn't always fair, but c'mon! Some things in life you have control over and some things you can equalize for other people so things are a lil more fair.)

7) My sister or anyone really, mocking me or egging me on by imitating a hissing, snarling cat with its hackles up and making her/their hands into claws (This is the second thing that gets my temper up in a flash, like nothing else.)

8) Inattentive people (Because I'm in a wheelchair, and depending on where I am at the time, I'm both a pedestrian and driver of a motorized vehicle. I have to constantly be on alert of where I go and of who and what's around me. It makes my job a whole heck of a lot harder if people aren't paying bloody attention to what path they forge. My reflexes aren't always quick, so if people don't watch it, they could end up under my wheels.)

9) Laziness--even though I suffer from this too, from time to time (But what I'm really talking about is how able-bodied people park in assessible parking spaces. I don't care if they're in a hurry or if they're senior citizens, if those people have no ambulatory or arthritic problems then they have no business, whatsoever, in parking in those designated spaces! Or on the yellow grids next to those spaces meant as areas for unloading the wheelchairs. When people do this, they block the disabled person from being able to get out. People just don't bloody bloomin' think. Well, they can start, and it wouldn't kill them to park a bit away from the entrance; walking is healthy exercise!)

10) Blatant favoritism (This habit or biased attitude can cause a lot of hurt and trouble. I've seen it in my extended family and have felt the ill effects of it, both in my favor and not in it. It's not fair or right, and even when it is in my favor I don't recommend it. Hurt and bitterness are too often the results and cause contention between innocent parties.)

11) Today's generation's slang or lingo (Examples: Gay, meaning "lame" or "totally stupid"; White trash, meaning "old, decrepit and in bad condition")

12) Doctors and nurses with superior attitudes and poor "bedside manners"

13) Superior and snobbish attitudes, period (I do not suffer these well.)

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!


Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It's easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!



..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE