Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Saturday Sayings: Disability Is a Matter Of Perception...
04-29-2006 E 3:12 p.m.
Feeling--cheerful
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing


Seven Sayings About Disabilities

1) "The superstition was that disability of any sort was the mark of the devil. The phrases are in languages throughout Europe: 'the devil's hoof, the devil's horn mark.' It reaches back to early Christianity and the Middle Ages. Where a child was born out of wedlock, the church cooked up the impression that you'd done something sinful and something dreadful would result. You will still find, particularly in Greece, people doing a little sign when they see a very badly disabled child--it needs warding off."
~Kate Adie~

2) "One always overcompensates for disabilities. I'm thinking of having my entire body surgically removed."
~Douglas Adams~

3) "A true friend knows your weaknesses but shows you your strengths; feels your fears but fortifies your faith; sees your anxieties but frees your spirit; recognizes your disabilities but emphasizes your possibilities."
~William Arthur Ward~

4) "The only disability in life is a bad attitude."
~Scott Hamilton~

5) "Disability is a matter of perception. If you can do just one thing well, you're needed by someone."
~Martina Navratilova~

6) "I seldom think of my limitations, and they never make me sad. Perhaps there is just a touch of yearning at times; but it is vague, like a breeze among flowers."
~Helen Keller~

7) Placing one foot in front of the other, I've climbed to higher
   lengths.
���Reaching beyond my own limitations, to show my inner
   strength.
���No obstacle too hard for this warrior to overcome.
���I'm just a man on a mission, to prove my disability hasn't
   won.

~Robert M. Hensel, Beyond Limitations~

********
"The only disability in life is a bad attitude."
~Scott Hamilton~

Were this truly the outlook for the majority of society, the world would be a lot better of a place, in my opinion. Friendships and other relationships that don't stand a chance now because of fear of the unknown and the different and "disablism" would blossom and flourish, and those people would definitely benefit from knowing people with disabilities. In fact, really, as I like to say, we all have disabilities. It's just that, for some of us, our disabilities are more visible.

Links to other Saturday Sayings! I'd like to know who you are! But please, this is for participants of the meme only.


This is a very simple meme. I hope it will be fun for you who participate. All you need to do is choose a topic and find seven sayings or quotes on it and then choose one of your seven to elaborate on. Quite simple! =0} Above all, HAVE FUN!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE