Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
B.W.I.T.C.H.ing
04-24-2006 E 6:48 p.m.
Feeling--very tired or drowsy
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing

I think this is interesting; it certainly puts a whole new light on the meaning of the word, B.I.T.C.H. Although, because of my upbringing and natural shyness or inhibitions...or reticence, if you will...I think I'll be forever adding a "W" in there. B.W.I.T.C.H. And, at least this for this morning it (this name, or label) could have applied to me.

*B.I.T.C.H.
When she stands up for herself and her beliefs, they call her a bitch.

When she stands up for those she love, they call her a bitch.

When she speaks her mind, thinks her own thoughts, or do things her own way, they call her a bitch.

When she refuses to tolerate injustice and speaks up against it, she is defined as a bitch.

The same thing happens when she takes time for herself, instead of being everyone's maid or when she acts a little selfish.

Being a bitch has meant raising your children to be strong people who have a solid sense of personal and social responsibility, who are not afraid to stand up for what they believe in, and who love and respect themselves for the beautiful beings they are.

Being a bitch means that you are free to be the wonderful creature that you are, with all your own intricasies, contradictions, quirks and beauty.

Being a bitch means you won't compromise what's in your heart. It means you live your life your way. It means you won't allow anyone to step on you.

B -- Babe
I -- In
T -- Total
C -- Control of
H -- Herself

********
Trying to set up our first presentation for Determined To Vote has been...an experience. And I'm putting that nicely. Erick, for whatever reason, suggested we have it here "in her [my] neck of the woods." And my first thought was that we could have it (hopefully) at the Community/Senior Center. That's where the Civic Club meets so I naturally thought it would be a good place for us as well. Ha! It's been a sheer trial the last two weeks trying to book that stupid place. If I had to do it over again--and I will with other places--I'd and will do it differently. I'd and will call the city's Chambers of Commerce and ask for suggestions or recommendations on where the best place to hold our voters' education is.

I will never again arbitrarily choose a likely place for a presentation based on a slight knowledge of another meeting's monthly agreed-upon spot. Though we did get the center booked for our May 3rd presentation, for free to boot, it was at the private cost of a good first impression--I now think they're idiots over there. I was given the run-around, I was handed from person to person to person. I was given delays and was belatedly told by the manager that their program director (to whom I really should be talking) had been given my name and number--as I'd been told the Friday before Easter--and would call me either the coming Tuesday or Wednesday. She had gone out of town for the holiday.

My frustration levels with this were mounting more each day, the longer this remained unresolved. I felt like snapping at the guy, "Why couldn't you have told me this before?! I wouldn't have bothered you today, had I known!" (This was last Monday.) So, I waited and waited for the lady's phone call.

No phone call. None on Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday. So Friday last, I called yet again, for the fourth or fifth time and finally ran her aground. I introduced myself, explained about Determined To Vote and tried explaining about the presentation and why we were hoping to book the center. She told me our purpose was a great and admirable one and that the center was free of bookings the morning we were shooting for. There was nothing going on until noon, when the senior ladies will have their luncheon and activities later on.

"That's fine," I said. "We'll only be an hour and half to two hours. We want to do this in the morning, beginning at nine-thirty."

"That'll work fine," the lady said. "It looks like that's the only day we're free that week."

Then she added: "I'll just need to check with the manager on this to be sure. I'll call you back in a couple of days."

The manager! The manager?! He's the one who told me I needed to talk to her! So why couldn't he tell me yea or nay himself? Once again I got the run-around! But this time in reverse, sort of.

This morning she called, surprisingly, bright and early. Mom answered the phone and spoke with her. Apparently, she was confused about what and why I was trying to book the center for. *sigh* Mom patiently explained what Determined to Vote is about and why we were wanting to book their place. For our Voters' Education presentation. The lady wasn't listening or she wasn't paying much attention or grasping what she had been told earlier by me, and now by Mom, because she kept asking certain questions over and over, it sounded like from Mom. But, we do have the center booked now.

I am grateful, for that is one load off my mind and shoulders and it's finally resolved. Yes! But according to my mother, now that it is, I should have no cause to grumble, grouse and bwitch about how they're idiots over there. (Which they seem to be, if after my various calls--in all of which I tried to explain what we wanted to book the center for and what Determined To Vote is--they still were confused about everything.) *rolls eyes* Nope, I shouldn't vent and I shouldn't develop a temporary mantra of "They're idiots, they're idiots, they're idiots, they're idiots!" I was lectured by Mom for my attitude and called an "onery twerp."

That's better than being called a bwitch, I guess, but still-- To be lectured for my private venting? I can't vent to her for awhile about something that's been a source of mounting frustration to me for two weeks, but she can vent any ole time to me or to anyone else about something she finds highly irritating. That's real fair. But, she won't have to worry, or have the dubious duty of lecturing me the next time I vent and act like a "onery twerp," because I won't be venting to her for quite some time.

And she wonders or complains why I don't confide in her more.

Yes, I'm being a B.W.I.T.C.H. today. A

B -- Babe
W -- Who's
I -- In
T -- Total
C -- Control of
H -- Herself

*Source found here.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE