Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
It's All Surreal To Me Now
05-05-2003 E 3:11 p.m.
I will be done with school officially next Monday. My one and only final is this Friday, then my vvveeerry last paper is due that Monday. We walk in at ten o' clock, hand in the paper and say "Syanara!" I cannot believe that will be the end of my academic career for quite some time. Now that it's here practically it's hard to believe it's here. With the few exceptions of summer breaks, a medical withdrawl from a semester at ISU and taking a year off once or twice, I've been in school since I was three! Right now that seems like a llloonngg time and a lotta schooling. For two years I've had Susan, my adviser at the Distance Learning Center, telling me "You're going to graduate this semester!"

And then...it never happened. I was always shie a few credits, and then when my grades weren't straight As--oh, they were still good, but I needed As--which would've gotten me off probation, I was dismissed for a year. Thankfully, Susan helped me petition to overturn that and we succeeded. And this one last time she told me I was going to graduate. She carefully went over me transcript just to be sure. Truthfully, what with Dad's half serious jokes about my being a lifetime student and her telling me it was my last semester for three or four of 'em that I've been through, I was beginning to think an' feel that I'd never reach the end. I mean, for the last two years I've been sssoo close to the end, yet it (the attainment of my degree) seemed neverending. I know I am graduating in 12 days, that I'll be through with school till who knows when, but I guess what I'm trying to say through all this babble is it all seems surreal to me. Perhaps when I hold my degree in my hands it will finally feel real...

**********
Also as a fair warning, if I don't update until Friday or Sunday night don't be concerned. I'm still alive, but I'll be working on zee final and zee last paper I have. And Saturday we are going to Yellowstone to spend the night for Mother's Day. So I have to have all my homework practically finished by Friday. So as Heather said last Saturday, it's study, study and more studying for me this week.

Thankfully though, I have my topic picked, unlike last time when I settled on the topic I eventually wrote on the day before the critical paper was due. Although...as I was reskimming one of the texts I'm using I saw a different issue or question coming out of it than the one I'd picked and we discussed in class. The question discussed in class and the one I originally picked is Has civilization improved or corrupted nature? This is a very good question and would stimulate much thought, however, the question I saw rising out of Montaigne's Of Cannibals after going over it a second time is this: Who or what is more barbaric? This pertains to the Old World "civilized" cultures as opposed to the more "natural" civilizations of the "newly discovered" New World. Montaigne brings the images of a "savage" and a "noble savage" into play in this particular essay of his.

My second text, The Tempest by William Shakespeare, when discussed in class side by side with the afore-mentioned text, went hand-in-hand to offer answers to the first question I mentioned. However, upon slightly changing my topic to the second question I mentioned, The Tempest--in my eyes--doesn't relate as well to this essay as it does in regards to the first. I had to scout around on the net for an essay that would hopefully help me gain insight as to how the play could relate in regards to the second question.

It took one poorly written, wordy essay by a student who attempted to explain the relationships Prospero, the orchestrator of all the goings-on on the island, had with the other characters to give me a glimpse of what I may use as quotes from the play. Annddd they all have to do with Caliban, Prospero's deformed and base slave. 'Course, I intend to use examples of the horrific treatment indigenous peoples suffered at the hands of the Anglo-Europeans. So that'll be pretty much my paper, and from that last part you know what side I'm on.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If I could reach up and hold a star for every time you've made me smile, the entire evening sky would be in the palm of my hand.
~Author Unknown~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE