Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Let's Stop It Here
06-03-2003 E 1:53 p.m.
I'm kinda iffy on writing this early because things still can happen throughout the remainder of the day that might be noteworthy...but I was in the mood to update sooo...

Here's a bit of trivia for ya--
Why do we say that people who get hung up on minor arguments are "quibbling?" And for that matter, what profession does this word come from?

Anybody know? No? Think of who likes to argue the most and does it for a living. That's right, lawyers. So, how do we get from them to the word "quibble?" It's from the Latin word quibis, a form of the word qui, or "who." Quibis is the equivalent of "party of the first part." So to quibble, in other words, is to talk like, and therefore to act like he or she whom you should usually try to avoid at all costs. And all is what it will probably cost you if you don't.

Just thought I'd throw that in there to stimulate your brain.

There's something that's been at the back of my mind the last three days that I've been debating over. Should I say it here? Or let it just drop? I don't even have the email that contains the point I surprisingly agree with, but I still remember the jist. Thing is, I don't want to botch the message and give people the wrong impression.

*decides to go for it* Dad's friend emailed him some commentaries by Andy Rooney. He usually isn't one I can sit and passively listen to, or agree with for that matter. But he made one comment in this email that took me aback and made me think a few moments after. I can't remember his exact wording, so I'll paraphase. If whites had the equivalents of the Negro College Fund, Jet Magazine, Black Entertainment TV and Miss Black America such as the Caucasian College Fund, Cloud Magazine, White Entertainment TV and White Miss America, Jesse Jackson would be banging on some doors.

He's (Andy Rooney) right. If whites dared to have organizations such as these (and there may well be for all I know), blacks would be ranting about racism and injustice even more. I have said in here many times that any predjudice is a pet peeve of mine, and racism is high on the list. To strangers this will be just talk and a possible lie for all they know, but those who know me can attest to the fact I despise racism. The color of your skin should have no baring on who you are or what you do. In the end, we are all humans with the same emotions and potential at birth to achieve greatness, if we so use it with that in mind. True, some of us are born into better circumstances than others, but it is our choices that determine our outcome.

Ok, so I spun off a bit there, but getting back to the point Andy Rooney made. In their own way blacks are perpetuating(sp?) their own form of segregation/racism with these organizations. It's great, in my opinion, to be proud of your ancestry and cultural heritage, but when you start excluding after you've cried out and railed against others for doing that same dang thing to you, you are no better than those who first practiced segregation. You've carried your pride too far.

I can see the need for the Negro College Fund and perhaps even for Jet Magazine, but Black Entertainment TV and Miss Black America? This is really the part I agree with. I don't know when they were started; if it were in the 50s or 60s then I can understand why they were begun. Segregation did not end until some time in the 60s I believe, and they were probably started to give blacks the equality they were unjustly denied.

However, it is now 2003 and in spite of the White Supremist Movement, blacks are integrated and have equality, thankfully, despite the druthers of racists. I think, while it is great to have organizations and other outlets to express and celebrate your ethnic heritage some carry this pride too far, and in the process, committ the same injustice you've fought to end. And therefore, though I'm in danger of being repetitious, you are no better than the whites who allowed or fought for segration with their racist's attitudes. When will this exclusion end? When will the racism, and who will be the first to end them?

Why can't it start with you and me? What can it hurt if we try?

Trivia question courtesy of Tricky Trivia.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are Tank-
You are Tank, from "The Matrix." Loyal
till the end, you spare no expense in ensuring
the well-being of others.

What Matrix Persona Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE