Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I Put a Spell On You
10-29-2004 E 11:13 a.m.
Last night Mom and I were flipping through the tv channels. Nothing really good or interesting was on, so I suggested the Disney Channel. Hocus Pocus was on, though it had maybe 20 minutes left. That's one of the very first Halloween shows I became enamored of and got for my collection.

I love Bette Midler. I love her singing voice and I love her as an actress. There hasn't been a movie she's been in that she hasn't been great in her character. As Winifred Sanderson (in Hocus Pocus) she rocks. Oh, she may be evil, evil to the core, but she plays a good downright nasty witch. I can't help but laugh when I see her as Winifred. Her makeup is comical and her fake buckteeth are nothing but caricature and she has a knack for the dramatic and comical at the appropriate moments, yet she can send thrills and chills down my spine when casting a spell. She's just awesome.

Anyway, I thought for today's Halloween entry I'd do the one song she and her "sisters" perform in the movie, I Put a Spell On You.

I Put a Spell On You
I put a spell on you,
And now you're mine.
You can't stop the things I do.
I ain't lyyyyyin'.

It's been 300 years
Right down to the day.
Now the witch is back
And there's hell to pay.

I put a spell on you
And now you're miiiiiine!

Hello, Salem! My name's Winifred, what's yours?

I put a spell on you
And now you're gone. (Gone, gone, gone, so long!)
My whammy fell on you
And it was strong. (So strong, so strong, so strong!)

Your wretched little lives
Have all been cursed,
'Cause of all the witches working
I'm the worst!

I put a spell on you
And now you're mine!

(Watch out! Watch out! Watch out! Watch out!)

If you don't believe,
You'd better get superstitious.

Ask my sisters!
"Ooh, she's vicious!"
I put a spell on you...
I put a spell on you.
Sisters!

Ah say ento pi alpha mabi upendi
Ah say ento pi alpha mabi upendi
In comma coriyama
In comma coriyama
Ay, ay, aye, aye, say bye-byyyyyyyyyyye! Bye bye!

Ah say ento pi alpha mabi upendi
Ah say ento pi alpha mabi upendi
In comma coriyama
In comma coriyama
Ay, ay, aye, aye, say bye-byyyyyyyyyyye! Bye bye!

Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker and Kathy Najimy

It's the only song Bette performs in the movie and is one of my favorite parts. I notice every time I watch it anymore that they seemed to write that scene in just so she could perform a song. Seems like anymore if a singer stars in a movie a scene or three is written in so they can perform their song(s). Or their music at least is included in the soundtrack. Like Hilary Duff, for instance. *shrugs* It was cool though, watching Bette on stage with her "sisters, casting a spell" on the town of Salem.

Have a spell-binding day, folks!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE