Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Sing With Me Now, "It's a Small World After All"
12-05-2001 E 6:52 p.m.
Have I said how much math sucks lately? Well, it does. Especially when you're still on relatively easy probs, but they take you just about 20 minutes to do each! Just because you got to write every lil step down in order ta figure out zee stupid prob! *words spew faster and faster out of my mouth as the frustration expels* I mean, c'mon! An easy prob by all fair rules, should take two to five minutes tops. But, then I forget myself. I'm not in any ordinary math class; I'm in the weirdest, bizarrest math class in the world. It even has my dad going: "Huh?"

By all rights, with how easy the problems have been, I feel I should have gotten to 32, maybe 34. But nuh uh. I only got to 24 and I started on eight. Oh freaking well. I will do as many probs as I can in class tomorrow and hand in the extra credit as is and pray I did enough ta pass at least with a C. *steps off the soapbox*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here's another example of how small this woild of ours is: Mom and I got done eating lunch earlier than expected, so we headed back to the school. There's no class before our Spanish so we just go in and set me up...books, pen, etc. Yesterday, however, we got a surprise. The light was on and there was a stranger sitting at one of the tables, studying. He looked as startled as I was I bet.

"Um...is there a class coming?" he asked, preparing to gather his papers and book.

"No," I answered, feeling slightly guilty we had disturbed his quiet environment. After all, it is crunch time with finals barely two weeks away. Papers are due, last minute tests will be given, extra credit and assignments are due. "The class doesn't start for another 40 or so minutes."

"Ok," he smiled and went back to whatever he had to do.

From then on I tried to be as quiet as possible. But as always when you make an effort to be super quiet, Murphy's Law rears its contrary head. Rrrriippp went the velcro flap on my purple binder as I tried not to disturb the stranger while opening it. To me it sounded loud. I also couldn't believe how loud tearing a paper (along the perforated edge) from my notebook could be. Rrriiippp. Ookk, let's see if you can be any quieter reading, Shiloh.

But I was. And at ten to two he gathered his stuff up and prepared to walk out. But then his question changed a mere passing encounter to a "holy cow!" encounter. "Did you go to high school here?"

"Um, no I went to Madison."

"Oh really? What year did you graduate?" From the tone of the word "really" I knew he'd graduated from here too.

"'93." Then, suddenly feeling that the world was going to get smaller, I asked the obvious question, "You?"

"'95." Then, "What's your name?" He was trying to place me among the seniors he'd either known or had heard about.

"Shiloh."

He paused, wrinkling his brow in thought. "Your last name wouldn't happen to be--" my last name went here "--would it?"

Surprised, I grinned. "Yyyeah." Now I wanted to know if I could place him. I couldn't. "What's your name?"

"Ryan. Miller."

I tried to think if it sounded familiar. It may have been back in the early '90s, but not now.

Instead of him just walking away with a friendly goodbye, the world continued to get smaller. He continued to ask questions. "What are you studying?"

"I'm in mass comm." I clarified, "Journalism."

"Aaahh," Ryan nodded. "Do you work for any newspaper now?"

I answered that I'd worked on the Scroll at Ricks and The Bengal at ISU when it was still The Bengal and not The Extra. (Stupid name for a newspaper anyhow. "Bengal" was a better name as our mascot is the bengal tiger.)

As it turns out, Jordan Hackworth (my jr. high English teacher's son) is Managing Editor of the poorly named ISU paper! LOL It's a small world after all...



..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE