Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Friday Five: What's In a Name?
09-12-2003 E 1:17 p.m.
1) Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed?

Well, on my birth certificate it says: Shilo Cannon. My name, as you know, is now spelled Shiloh. Mom added the "h" when I was a year or two because she thought it gave my name a more elegant look. And when I was 18 I added my stepdad's name to mine.

2) If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be?

Actually, for a while I did change my name--my first. In a way. When I was 16, 17, I played with zee spelling again and started writing it this way: Shylo. It was different and, in my mind, more contemporary looking. As a kid however, I lamented that I got stuck with a most unusual name while every other girl was named Stephanie or Amy or Jennifer. Everybody remembered my name because it was/is not as common. I just wanted to be lost in zee sea of popular names, just like every other kid or three in my grade.

My middle name I've always wanted to change, but I haven't because my mother bears the same middle name as me because it's my grandma's first. Afton. It's Dutch for "eventide." It's pretty in its own way when you think of it that way, but it's old fashioned. I've always wanted something exotic sounding like, Zoe. But something that would sound well with my first name. And as for a last, well I wouldn't mind substituting a married name for my two maiden ones.

3) Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?)

I was named in part for one of the Hebrew meanings of "Shiloh"...the Second Coming. It also means "peace" and "Messiah." I was also named after Neil Diamond's song.

4) Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why?

As you can probably guess, I'm not too crazy about old fashioned names such as our grandparents and great-grandparents musta had. As for a list of the names I do like, go here.

5) Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com / triggur.org / astroexpert accurate? How or how isn't it?

Not even close. The first two are extreme opposites and the last I don't understand at all. The first says I seek out leadership positions and have ambitions more than enough for success. I don't want to be in the limelight. The second was totally derogatory.

***********

What Egyptian Deity are you? go to:the quiz!

Questions by the Friday Five.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If you want to leave footprints in the sands of time, wear work boots.
~Unknown~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE