Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Saturday Sayings: Let's Have a Word Or Two
05-20-2006 E 10:28 a.m.
Feeling--blank
Reading-- Winds of Fury by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing


Seven Sayings Playing Upon the Word, Word

1) Oh that my words were now written! oh that they were printed in a book!
~Job 19:23~

2) A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.
~Proverbs 25:11~

3) "God's mouth knows not how to speak falsehood, but he brings to pass every word."
~Aeschylus, Prometheus Bound~

4)          One word
    Frees us of all the weight and pain of life:
    That word is love.
~Sophocles, Oedipus at Colonus~

5) "Word is a shadow of deed."
~Democritus~

6) "Once a word has been allowed to escape, it cannot be recalled."
~Horace~

7) "An honest man's word is as good as his bond."
~Miguel de Cervantes, Don Quixote de la Mancha~

********
"Word is a shadow of deed."
~Democritus~

I like this quote a lot. (I think I'll add it to my quote book! =0}) And it's very logical. It is said we are judged by our thoughts and deeds...by what's in our hearts. Thoughts are a form of words, and really, are precursors to deeds. They shadow that way, if you think about it. They can color or influence our actions if we let them. Thoughts are...the intangible, rough forms of opinions, desires, needs or obsessions. They are the shadows, while our actions are the tangible, finished forms of whatever our thoughts were.

There is a second way words can shadow deeds. "You talk the talk, but you don't walk the walk." Big talkers, little doers. As Evan taught me--amongst a few other things--actions speak louder than mere words. Words can have a lot of power, yes, but only if you back them up with actions. Or, if you allow them to have the power to affect you. To hurt you. Case in point: although Evan said otherwise, his habitual avoidance of me became more and more frequent with longer stints each time. This told me he didn't want to be around or have me in his life. Actions are solid, tangible, done deals. Words, without the solid form of deeds to back them up or to give them power, are mere shadows.

Links to other Saturday Sayings! I'd like to know who you are! But please, this is for participants of the meme only.


This is a very simple meme. I hope it will be fun for you who participate. All you need to do is choose a topic and find seven sayings or quotes on it and then choose one of your seven to elaborate on. Quite simple! =0} Above all, HAVE FUN!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE