Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Saturday Sayings: Mother's Day
05-13-2006 E 11:05 a.m.
Feeling--indescribable
Reading-- Winds of Fury by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing


Seven Sayings About Moms

Mother's Day is tomorrow, so this will be a tribute to that special lady who shows(ed) us love, who raised us, who has supported us and who has offered us sound advice through the years.

1) "One race there is of men, one of gods, but from one mother we both draw our breath."
~Pindar~

2) "My father! The Great Spirit is my father! The earth is my mother--and on her bosom I will recline."
~Tecumseh~

3) Who ran to help me when I fell,
����And would some pretty story tell,
����Or kiss the place to make it well?
���������My mother.
~Ann and Jane Taylor, My Mother~

4) Dear Madam, I have been shown in the files of the War Department a statement of the Adjutant-General of Massachusetts that you are the mother of five *[actually two] sons who have died gloriously on the field of battle. I feel how weak and fruitless must be any words of mine which should attempt to beguile you from the grief of a loss so overwhelming. But I cannot refrain from tendering to you the consolation that may be found in the thanks of the Republic they died to save. I pray that our heavenly Father may assuage the anguish of your bereavement, and leave you only the cherished memory of the loved and lost, and the solemn pride that must be yours to have laid so costly a sacrifice upon the altar of freedom.
Letter written by Abraham Lincoln to a Mrs. Bixby

5) "A boy's best friend is his mother."
~Joseph Stefano; a line from the movie Psycho~

6) "Holy Mother Earth, the trees and all nature are witnesses of your thoughts and deeds."
~Native American Proverb~

7) "My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her."
~George Washington~

********
"One race there is of men, one of gods, but from one mother we both draw our breath."
~Pindar~

I like this quote. Because it's saying that no matter who we are, man or god, we all come from the same origins. In that, we are the same. No better than any others, no less off either. I like knowing we ALL have the same "mother."

*It was later discovered and the records corrected to say Mrs. Bixby had had only two sons.

Links to other Saturday Sayings! I'd like to know who you are! But please, this is for participants of the meme only.


This is a very simple meme. I hope it will be fun for you who participate. All you need to do is choose a topic and find seven sayings or quotes on it and then choose one of your seven to elaborate on. Quite simple! =0} Above all, HAVE FUN!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE