Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Saturday Sayings: Shakespeare Knew Us Well
04-22-2006 E 10:05 a.m.
Still trying to--get my brain in gear
Reading-- Winds of Change by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- nothing


Seven Famous Quotes by Shakespeare

1) By the pricking of my thumbs,
����Something wicked this way comes.
~Macbeth -- Act IV, Scene I~

2) Double, double toil and trouble;
����Fire burn and cauldron bubble.
~Macbeth -- Act IV, Scene I~

3) Lord, what fools these mortals be!
~A Midsummer Night's Dream -- Act III, Scene II~

4) If we shadows have offended,
����Think but this, and all is mended,
����That you have but slumbered here
����While these visions did appear.
~A Midsummer Night's Dream -- Act V, Scene I~

5) But, for my own part, it was Greek to me.
~Julius Caesar -- Act I, Scene II~

6) The common curse of mankind,
����--folly and ignorance.
~Troilus and Cressida -- Act II, Scene III~

7) My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun;
����Coral is far more red, than her lips red:
����If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;
����If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.
����I have seen roses damasked, red and white,
����But no such roses see I in her cheeks;
����And in some perfumes is there more delight
����Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
����I love to hear her speak, yet well I know
����That music hath a far more pleasing sound:
����I grant I never saw a goddess go,
����My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:
����And yet by heaven, I think my love as rare,
����As any she belied with false compare.

~Sonnet 130~

********
My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun;
Coral is far more red, than her lips red:
If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;
If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.
I have seen roses damasked, red and white,
But no such roses see I in her cheeks;
And in some perfumes is there more delight
Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
I love to hear her speak, yet well I know
That music hath a far more pleasing sound:
I grant I never saw a goddess go,
My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:
And yet by heaven, I think my love as rare,
As any she belied with false compare.

~Sonnet 130~

I know this sonnet isn't probably as well-known as the quotes I listed above it, but it's my favorite sonnet, and as this is my meme I couldn't resist adding it here. Shakespeare was a master in more than just writing. His works make that abundantly clear. He was someone who knew humanity's collective psyche, motives and emotions intimately. And that, in large part I think--notwithstanding his great talent, of course--is what made him such a timeless success. He has helped us see what strengths we have and what our foibles are as an entire race.

The reason I love this sonnet is for its humor. This is no sappy, rose-tinted love poem deifying a mortal woman and putting her upon an ivory pedastal. No siree, this sonnet is honest to the point of being brutal, but the Bard tempers it in the end with his last two lines:

    And yet by heaven, I think my love as rare,
    As any she belied with false compare.
The humor lies in his imagery: If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head./And in some perfumes is there more delight
Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
This could be taken as an insult, really, but, you can tell he truly loves her because he thinks her true self or attributes are as beautiful As any she belied with false compare. He'd rather have a touchable mortal woman than a goddess to love.

In fact, most of the quotes I chose today show or deal with humanity's nature. And they are lines we have adapted into our culture as phrases or sayings like "It's Greek to me!" Meaning, of course, I don't understand this at all. These are only seven of the many, many well-known quotes or sayings by Shakespeare. Go on, I challenge you to find or pick a saying we use in everyday life like, "All's well that ends well." Look it up; you just might be surprised (or maybe not) that it was coined by the Bard himself!

Links to other Saturday Sayings! I'd like to know who you are! But please, this is for participants of the meme only.


This is a very simple meme. I hope it will be fun for you who participate. All you need to do is choose a topic and find seven sayings or quotes on it and then choose one of your seven to elaborate on. Quite simple! =0} Above all, HAVE FUN!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE