Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I Would Never Make It As a Royal
03-23-2004 E 6:54 p.m.
Ya know, I'd never make it as royalty. It's all well and good to dream and fantasize about a Prince Charming and Happily Ever After, and it really is romantic in theory. In theory. *knowing smile* We all know about theories. Good in the idear stage, not so hot in practice some of them.

In reality, however, it's not romantic; it's not a fairy tale with a happy ending. But we all know that. I just finished a medieval time travel novel last night and the History Channel today had a history on Russia's empire which was quite interesting. Both led me to the conclusion I would never be happy as a royal. For one, I would never survive the intrigues, the stale, stuffy, snobbish attitudes and for another, I detest politics with a passion.

I know the intrigues aren't the same as they were in Medieval times (as the emperors and monarchs had more power then), but still there are intrigues. I definitely know I wouldn't survive Medieval intrigues. There were people back then who had no compunction in killing anyone who stood in their way of a higher position or even the throne itself. It is reputed that Ivan the Terrible's mother was murdered in just such a power struggle when he was but seven-years-old. And forgive me, Star-Heart. I'm not up on my English history at the moment, but I believe it is reported(?) that John murdered or had his nephew, Arthur, murdered(?) so he could ascend to the throne. So, yeah, I would likely be a footnote in history--a very small footnote. Poquito. I would likely be stuck in a convent for the rest of my days, or I would have a very mysterious accident.

Here in the modern world, if I were a royal I'd be a rebellious one, the black sheep in-law (if they'd even allow their prince to marry me). I would do my duties as a Serene Royal Highness because it would be expected of me, but I would not play the cold, untouchable royal. I would not play the intrigues and for Pete's sake, I would not stand by and watch my husband pine for and cheat on me with his mistress! (Yes, I watched Dateline or what have you, on Diana's secret tapes.) The traditional royals wouldn't be too happy with or take kindly to me. I would most likely be ousted like Sarah Ferguson, the Duchess of York, after a while or if they (whichever royal family I happened to be a part of) decided to allow my marriage to continue to their prince, there probably would be attempts to keep me in the background, out of the limelight. I would probably be politely snubbed.

But hey, I'll never have to worry about it because it's for darn sure I'll never meet or marry a prince. Give me a Stripling Warrior anytime.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE