Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
2004, In Review
12-18-2004 E 2:37 p.m.

Rohirrim

To which race of Middle Earth do you belong?

brought to you by Quizilla
**********
I'm debating on doing a survey of the year, but with two weeks left in the year--ay!! two weeks?!--stuff still can happen.

Where didst the year go? I can't believe Christmas is only a week away!

Oh what the hey. I can always edit and add to this entry later. (If I remember. LOL.)

1) What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Bought a domain name for a design site I'm debating on resurrecting--not the domain itself, but the site. I could never figure out where I was to edit and update the site. At Tripod or at Geocities, where the domain was forwarded to. So, it was a waste of moolah, all year long. *sigh*

2) Did you keep your New Year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I made no New Year's resolutions and will make none for next year. I could never remember that I made them, and the years went by before they came to my attention again. So several ago I quit making them. Now, if there are goals I want to make and accomplish, I break them down into easier goals I can stick with and meet within a week's time.

3) Did anyone close to you give birth?

Actually yes! *laughs* Come to think of it my friend Tricia, from ISU, gave birth in November(?) to her second lil girl, and my cousin Charity gave birth to her first son and fourth child, Joe Carter, in September. And another friend, Lynda, and my sis-in-law, Jen, are pregnant! Lynda's due in April and Jen in July.

4) Did anyone close to you die?

Not really.

5) What countries did you visit?

Melancholia, Xanth, the countries of Middle Earth...

6) What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Well, since I will be getting my own place in the Spring, that's not necessarily an item I need to add here, eh? *tired smile* *thinks* Well, maybe a job. Most definitely a social life, and perhaps a special someone?

7) What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Right now it's July 5th. That's the day I spent with Heather and her folks. Our friendship up to that point had been steady and slowly growing. It was after that Heather started making changes in her life, which in effect, changed the dynamics of our friendship.

8) What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Choosing the course of my life, or how I will live it. This may sound belated--I'm almost 30, shouldn't I have already done this?--and unimpressive. But the changes Heather's made have reminded me of what I have, of how lucky and blessed I am. I have faltered many times and made the same mistakes in the last few months that I made several years ago when I was floundering in my testimony of the church. I lost sight of the "eternal perpective" as the apostle, Neal A. Maxwell, called it. I was only thinking of my loneliness, of the here and now. I was dangerously close to breaking the Law of Chastity.

But Heather's choices made me see my happiness cannot be found her way. In her new lifestyle. My happiness lies with the church. With Christ. I have the truth, the gospel, the comfort its teachings bring. Not that she won't or can't be happy with the choices she's decided upon. They're just not for me.

And, oh sure, I've unconsciously decided before that I'll always be LDS, and have had a fairly strong testimony, but this is the first time I've consciously decided that the church will be the guideline in my life. I made the decision last month to start making better and smarter choices, so that if I do meet up with my eternal companion in this life, I will be worthy of him. But I also know that if I make smarter and better choices, I will be a lot happier.

9) What was your biggest failure?

Making the dumb mistakes mentioned above.

10) Did you suffer illness or injury?

Yes.

11) What was the best thing you bought?

Well, I'm kinda getting these for free, but I'm buying zee books that come with the purple goblets a reader's club offers its members. So, in a way I'm buying the plum purple goblet set. There's eight--I've got six--in the set and they are so, so pretty. I've always admired Mom's sets of goblets and have wanted my own. Now, I almost have my first set--and in my favorite color too! =0} I've also been enjoying the suspense books I've gotten through the Reader's Club, or Service.

12) Where did most of your money go?

Bills.

13) What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Jen's pregnancy and spending Thanksgiving in Utah with Nan and Paw Paw (which never happened).

14) What song will always remind you of 2004?

Seasons Change by Anastacia.

15) Compared to this time last year, are you: i) happier or sadder? ii) thinner or fatter? iii) richer or poorer?

i) Perhaps a lil sadder. Heather's and my friendship has undergone a drastic change, and I wish we were as close as we had been.

ii) Fatter. Definitely a bit more plumper. I can see it my face and feel it when I wear certain clothes.

iii) Financially, poorer, definitely. Emotionally? Well, let's just say there's a wealth, or abundance, of emotion in moi. Conviction wise? Rich. 'Cause I now know where my happiness lies.

16) What do you wish you'd done more of?

Make better decisions; spent my money more wisely.

17) What do you wish you'd done less of?

Beat myself up for things I really couldn't control--and the mistakes I've mentioned a few times above.

18) How will you be spending Christmas?

At home, with family.

19) Did you fall in love in 2004?

No, I fell in like.

20) How many one-night stands?

Zero. Nada. Zilch. Zipamondo.

21) What was your favourite TV program?

Reba.

22) What was the best book you read?

My Heart Stood Still by Lynn Kurland.

23) What did you want and get?

24) What was your favourite film of this year?

Spider-man 2.

25) What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

My family took me out to eat and we saw Shrek 2 at the Edwards Multiplex theater. And I am 25 version 4.

26) What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Finding true love.

27) How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

Comfortable, soft, casual.

28) What kept you sane?

Insanity.

29) Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Johnny Depp.

30) Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

Be yourself. You know yourself best, next to God. Once you know where your happiness is, follow it.

31) Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I said...
Happy turns to sad
Sometimes life gets bad
Things get rearranged
Nothing stays the same
It just never ends
Here we go again
One thing
Still remains, uh
Seasons (seasons) change

Anastacia, Seasons Change


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE