Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Into the West
04-12-2004 E 4:30 p.m.
Did you know my town's getting a temple sometime? It was announced months ago, and I have been meaning to add that lil piece of knowledge here, but always sidetracked.

I just thought you'd like to know now.

**********
Yesterday for Easter I received two things--candy goes without saying in my family. I received The Medallion, a cute Jackie Chan movie and the soundtrack to Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

As soon I heard Into the West at the end credits to the movie, I knew I had to have this song. So it was the first thing I requested when Mom asked me what I wanted. And, like with other songs I've liked, I've let my curiosity take me. I've looked up the lyrics and read them as I sat here listening to the song on Repeat.

Listening to the song, I'm almost literally drawn back into the movie, reliving the courageous, desperate struggle to free Middle Earth from Saron's tight, dark clutches, or really from his flaming Knowing Eye. I can also see, almost clearly in my mind's eye, the goodbye scene where Frodo and Gandalf stand at the base of the boarding plank to the ship that will take them and the Elves "into the west." The camera is focused solely on Frodo's face as he gazes back at his friends with a happy yet bittersweet smile on his sweet face. I was crying silently then, letting my tears fall where they may once they'd made wet tracks down my own face. Even now the bittersweet, poignant emotion pulls at me, such is the power of the song.

As I continued to read the lyrics in time with the song I thought of Sister Hinckley, the prophet's wife. She passed away a few days ago, and I also thought of Heather's grandmother. The song is a "Goodbye till we meet again" type ballad. It's as if it's saying death or goodbyes are but an ending, while the soul continues on on distant shores...that friends, family will meet again.

The song brings to mind a young woman, perhaps my age, holding a loved one (or friend) tenderly in her arms as he/she passes on. She comforts them and wonders what they can ...see/on the horizon. She pleads with them not to say, "We have come now to the end" and tells them: White shores are calling/You and I will meet again/And you'll be here in my arms/Just sleeping.

Pres. Hinckley and his beloved wife will meet again, I know. And so will Heather and her grandma and the rest of their family. Death may be a goodbye and an end to one phaze, but it's the beginning to a whole new adventure.

Into the West
Lay down
Your sweet and weary head
Night is falling
You�ve come to journey's end
Sleep now
And dream of the ones who came before
They are calling
From across the distant shore

Why do you weep?
What are these tears upon your face?
Soon you will see
All of your fears will pass away
Safe in my arms
You're only sleeping

What can you see
On the horizon?
Why do the white gulls call?
Across the sea
A pale moon rises
The ships have come to carry you home

And all will turn
To silver glass
A light on the water
All souls pass

Hope fades
Into the world of night
Through shadows falling
Out of memory and time
Don't say: "We have come now to the end"
White shores are calling
You and I will meet again

And you'll be here in my arms
Just sleeping

What can you see
On the horizon?
Why do the white gulls call?
Across the sea
A pale moon rises
The ships have come to carry you home

And all will turn
To silver glass

A light on the water
Grey ships pass
Into the West

Annie Lennox


Life is eternal, and love is immortal. And death is only a horizon, and a horizon is nothing save the limit of our sight.
~Author unknown~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE