Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
In an Old, Old House By a Moonlit Garden
06-01-2004 E 3:25 p.m.
I felt like picking another chocolate from the box I've discovered. So here you go, and know now I'm changing, oncce again, the prompt slightly.



Late, late last night, when the whole world slept
Along to the garden of dreams I crept.
And I pulled the bell of an old, old house
Where the moon dipped down like a little white mouse.
I tapped the door and I tossed my head:
"Are you in, little girl? Are you in?" I said.
And while I waited and shook with cold
Through the door tripped Me--just eight years old.

I looked so sweet with my pigtails down,
Tied up with a ribbon of dusky brown,
With a dimpled chin full of childish charms,
And my old black dolly asleep in my arms
I sat Me down when I saw myself,
And I told little tales of a moonland elf.
I laughed and sang as I used to do
When the world was ruled by Little Boy Blue.

Then up I danced with a toss and a twirl
And said: "Now have you been a good, good girl?
Have you had much spanking since you were Me?
And does it feel fine to be twenty-three
I kissed Me then, and I said farewell,
For I've earned more spanks than I dared to tell,
And Eight must never see Twenty-three
As she peeps through the door of Memory.

Zora Cross

I got the impression the prompter for this topic was thinking we could continue with the poem where it left off, but perhaps I'm wrong. Perhaps the person meant only for it to spark our own creative witing or thoughtful thinking.

I can't build upon this poem, it's wonderful as it is. Plus, it's come to its natural conclusion. But it reminded me of an entry I once did. Would the child you were be proud of the person you are?

It's a sweet poem, I think, where the child and adult selves meet in an old, old house by a moonlit garden that exists only until dawn. There, they reacquaint themselves with one another, assessing the life they've shared, or lived, at different stages. The young child trusts and hopes the adult will remember their dreams and see them through, that she will bring both honor and grace to their name by doing good deeds. The wiser adult remembers how life was easier then, the simple joys playing with toys brought, when Mother Goose's world was a fantastic voyage, and for a brief moment yearns to be eight again.

The poem also reminds me of one of the talks given at Jon's graduation. The speaker said even though they (her classmates) were 18, they were still three, five, 10 and 14 inside. And once you understand her reasoning, you'll see it's true. There are times when we want to be held after a fright or an owiie and that's the three-year-old in us. There are times when we accomplish something great and want recognition: "Look at me, Mom!" That's the five-year-old in us. There are times when we want to just run and play and that's the ten-year-old in us. There are times when we want to rebel against authority and just do as we please and that's the 14-year-old in us. No matter how old we get, we will always be three, five, 10, 14, 18 and 28. I rather like that notion.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE