Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Missing Sock
05-22-2004 E 12:35 p.m.
I miss my computer. On the hardrive there I have saved a couple topics I've been meaning to add here. I tried saving one to disk, but that backfired as this (the family computer) said the disk wasn't formatted. Holy Hannah! then how was I able to save it to disk and view it on my computer, hmmm? I just want my computer back and working properly. I will check with Charles Monday to see if they could begin figuring out why in tarnation the computer isn't recognizing the Internet. I want my outlet for creative expression back! Enough said.
**********
* The Missing Sock
My mom would say: "It didn't just get up and walk away on it's own now did it?"

My dad would claim: "The dryer ate it."

You all know what I'm talking about. That one lost sock. I actually keep a bag full of odd socks with the hopes that their matching twins will return one day, even though they rarely ever do.

Now here's a topic that's wide open for some fun creativity. Where's the missing sock(s)?

Where am I? And where are my other compatriots that have gone missing as well, you wonder? I'll tell you. Deep within your walls and under your floors live tiny people called the Littletons. They are your unseen neighbors, or boarders if you will. They have sought shelter with you and made a nice, cozy home for themselves and their son and daughter. Don't be afraid if you hear scurrying and scraping noises; it's just them hunting for any useful items lying about, forgotten or discarded--like buttons, pencils, pens, scraps of fabric, matches and their boxes, my compatriots...me.

They are curious creatures, only two inches tall and are inventive. Their furniture is a mixture of old matches and popcicle sticks. Their plates and cups and silverware come from Suzy's long forgotten doll's set. They love shiny baubles and love adorning their homemade clothes with parts of their shiny "treasure." The beds, of course, are the missing matchboxes you can't ever find when the power goes out. And my compatriots (that you will never find) have new lives as decorated pillows, sleeping bags or blankets for this miniature family.

As for my new life? I have been washed and dyed a wonderful shade of violet and been decorated with the silk petals of a daisy from an old flower arrangement your mother never uses as a centerpiece anymore. Young Lucie uses me as her bedspread now, after cutting off my toe, undoing my seams, stuffing me with batting her mother found in your mother's sewing room and resewing my ends together. I look beautiful! And I'm no longer lost or forgotten; I'm cherished!

* This week's P-O-Y.

Anybody remember the cartoon series, The Littles? Or Disney's The Borrowers? They're cute stories of lil, tiny people living in the walls of a nice family's home. They take unwanted or lost items and find simple yet creative uses for each. Inevitably the kids of each family meet and become good friends and have wild, exciting adventures.

When I read the prompt I knew immeadiately I wanted to tell it from the sock's view.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE