Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Message of Christmas
12-01-2004 E 5:38 p.m.
December 1st. Wow. In retrospect this year has been both long and short. It didn't seem so very long ago the year was relatively new. Then it was the 4th of July and my birthday. Now, the year has aged under Father Time's watchful gaze. His clock is bonging in the 12th hour. With the last bong will come the New Year. So short in time, yet so long. Compared to recent years, this one has been packed full with new things and changes that it seems so long. So much has happened!

I remember thinking, not so long ago, Christmas seemed so far away still. Now, there's only 23 shopping days left. Time's rolling by. *smiles a bit* Reminds me of the Whos' countdown to Christmas in Ron Howard's version of How the Grinch Stole Christmas. They were Christmas freaks who (pun intended) lived for Christmas.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas is one of my favorite tales at Christmastime. Has been ever since I was a kid. I love the message it gives: Christmas isn't about things; it comes anyway, "without ribbons, without tags, without packages, boxes or bags!" It's a feeling, a spirit of giving and for Christians, it's the time of giving thanks and remembering our Savior's birth. It's a season of peace and goodwill to mankind. It's a message we should all remember.

And I love Faith Hill's song from the soundtrack, Where Are You Christmas?

Where Are You Christmas?
Where are you Christmas?
Why can't I find you?
Why have you gone away?
Where is the laughter
You used to bring me?
Why can't I hear music play?

My world is changing;
I'm rearranging
Does that mean Christmas changes too?

Where are you Christmas?
Do you remember
The one you used to know?
I'm not the same one
See what the time's done
Is that why you have let me go?

Christmas is here
Everywhere, oh
Christmas is here
If you care, oh

If there is love in your heart and your mind
You will feel like Christmas all the time

I feel you Christmas
I know I've found you
You never fade away
The joy of Christmas
Stays here inside us
Fills each and every heart with love

Where are you Christmas?
Fill your heart with love

Faith Hill

I was like Cindy Lou Who once. I was growing up, but one year I couldn't find the Christmas spirit. I just couldn't find the magic, the miracle, that is Christmas. I knew what it should be, what it had been before, but I couldn't recapture it. It felt... *searching for the word* ...empty, lacking. It just wasn't Christmas, but a store-pedaled holiday. It took a long time, almost the entire month of December, to find Christmas. But I found it just in time.

I am glad CMT played this the other day to start off the holiday. =0}


Never exaggerate your faults--leave that for your friends.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE