Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Wedding Bells Chime In the Merry Month of June
06-09-2002 E 9:27 p.m.
Aahh, June, the month of merry weddings. As they say in the musical, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, "When you marry in June, you'll always be a bride."

Why am I talking weddings all of a sudden? Well, that's because I am surrounded by their hype all the sudden. When Jessy was last here--this time her entourage consisted of her boyfriend and two of his sisters--she hinted that it's only a matter of time before Nathaniel proposes. She showed Jen and me the dress she has picked out as she told us how Nathaniel behaves and talks around her, etc. etc. She then told us her newest wedding plans. (This was about the fifth time--perhaps more--she's planned "her wedding." Last time it had a Scottish theme.) She wants to be married in the winter so she can have her pictures taken in the snow. As an anchor for her veil, she wants a snowflake halo to adorn her head. Her colors will be hunter green and gold.

Nice huh? But I thhiinnk she forgot it's the groom's wedding too. I mean, what about what he would like? Doesn't he have any say in this?

This last week another stepsister, Audrey, got married at a beach resort in Costa Rica! That musta cost ole Daddy a pretty penny or two. As for me, I would like a quiet, simple wedding in late spring to mid-summer. I want flowers in my pictures, and greenery. Plus I don't wanna be freezing during them. The rest of the details will be worked out if I ever marry, because I want the decorations and feeling to reflect both of us.

Then, today Lifetime's theme in its tv movies and shows has been "I do." All afternoon its movies and series have entertained viewers (me) with hitches in wedding plans, very controling but well-meaning mothers and a couple who falls for each other while engaged to other people. It's finale was Weddings of a Lifetime: Fantasy Weddings, which just got over. Of course, this was for people who had mega bucks. The first, and my favorite, was a masquerade like they hold in Italy. The bride, ever since the third grade, wanted her mother to hold a masquerade ball, but she never did. So her reception was a masquerade ball. Man it was cool.

The last, and my second fave, was a European nobility or minor royalty theme. The cake was huge! And on the sides of each tier was a crest that I think they made to represent their union. The guests got a small cake top when they received a piece. The women received silver swans and the men golden lions. They honeymooned in Hong Kong, Casablanca, Istanbul and three other exotic cities around zee world.

The other two were so-so in my opinion. One was the typical Island fantasy where the couple gets married on the beach in the Bahamas. Then the least fave of mine was the Moroccan wedding. I loved the colors of crimson and gold, but I think belly dancers with chandeliers on their heads was a bit over much. But...it wasn't my wedding so I really have no right to judge.

I have two minds about all this. One, I'm ever the romantic so this type of stuff appeals to me. I love to hear about people's courtships and what they did for their weddings--even if it is out of my league. Makes me think about a wedding of my own. But then it doesn't look like I'll be getting married anytime soon. So why plan for a wedding I may wait until the Second Coming for? See, this is my jaded side coming out, which is two: they hype June up like they do February for Valentine's Day. And we all know how I feel about that... It should be a day hyped for friendships, not lovers. Ah well. The world is the way it is.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
For the Present is the point at which time touches eternity.

~C.S. Lewis, The Screwtape Letters~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE