Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Love Through Time
03-03-2005 E 5:22 p.m.
Like the new layout? It's one I've wanted to put together for awhile now. I knew I wanted to use the poem with a stationery look, but previous attempts at the layout failed to come together and there were other problems with the codes. This one had its own share of perplexing problems, almost convincing me that maybe I'm losing my knack for this html gig and should stop doing it. But eventually, through happenstance and perseverence--perhaps just out of sheer stubbornness--I succeeded in getting this to look the way I want it.
**********
One of my favorite Oldies songs is Nights In White Satin by Moody Blues.
Nights In White Satin
Nights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I've written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I'd always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can't say anymore.

'Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.

Gazing at people,
Some hand in hand,
Just what I'm going through
They can understand.

Some try to tell me
Thoughts they cannot defend,
Just what you want to be
You will be in the end,

And I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

Nights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I've written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I'd always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can't say anymore.

'Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

'Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

I love the melody; and I love his voice, whomever the lead singer is. I just melt. And I can easily envision velvety nights strewn with diamond-bright stars, nights in white satin. Of a dark-haired man sitting in his luxurious bed, bent over paper or stationery, writing love letters to his lady who may or not know what's in his heart already. Of the same man walking through the park, hands in his jacket pockets and watching the other lovers holding hands and sharing kisses; and for the first time, he sees the world anew with eyes opened by his love.

Yes, I know, a typical romantic's outlook on anything sweet and romantical. *delighted laugh* Ah well. Goes well with my new theme, if I do say so myself. And I do!

Speaking of love, letters and poetry, I've been in the mood to explore them from different eras and places. Especially ancient Egypt. In fact...*light bulb suddenly illuminates overhead* I think I may do a few entries as a series if I can find letters or poems from the different eras I'm interested in...Medieval times, the Victorian era, WW2...to name a few. InsideOut has a ballad that'll fit great, I think.

Anyways, I find it interesting that before modern times--and I know why they did it--royalty, the nobility and the wealthy married for convenience and advantageous alliances. Or rather, I should say I find it interesting that love almost always finds a way among people. In medieval times there was courtly love. Geoffery of Montmouth's(?) version of the love triangle between King Arthur, Queen Guinevere and Sir Lancelot is a prime example. The lady was married to his king and liege lord, but she loved the knight and he loved her...so the story goes. Bound by the rules of courtly love, a knight and his lady fair could only love from afar. He could compose and sing ballads praising her beauty and attributes, and I'm sure moments were stolen to be together, but they could never lawfully be together.

Then as writing became more prevalent and used among everyone in the upper and even middle classes, the age of pen pals came about. So to speak. Friendships and love were forged between two total strangers, who only knew each other through the letters they wrote. Some couples could never meet in person.

Love is everywhere. It's as old as Time itself and so are its expressions. Even in ancient Egypt people composed poetry and songs to honor their lovers. I've shared one other poem from Egypt before; I'll haveta go searching and locate it for a link.

Here's another one for ya, though. In an explanation it said it was common for lovers to address each other as brother and sister as terms of endearment. By our standards today that's pretty odd and would make a llloootttt of people uncomfortable. LOL. But ya gotta remember back in those days the royal family married amongst itself. So there could be some truth to this!

My Heart Flutters Hastily
My heart flutters hastily,
When I think of my love of you;
It lets me not act sensibly,
It leaps from its place.
It lets me not put on a dress,
Nor wrap my scarf around me;
I put no paint upon my eyes,
I'm even not anointed.
"Don't wait, go there," says it to me,
As often as I think of him;
My heart, don't act so stupidly,
Why do you play the fool?
Sit still, the brother comes to you,
And many eyes as well.
Let not the people say of me:
"A woman fallen through love!"
Be steady when you think of him,
My heart, do not flutter!

Love poems are beautiful and lyrical. Some are tender, some bittersweet, but I think all are poignant. I dunno why I have this sudden interest in them, perhaps it's because One Perfect Rose is speaking so loudly to me right now. Who knows? But explore them I shall.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE