Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Figuring Out a Strategy
02-20-2005 E 2:17 p.m.
Eh, I'm either getting really good at procrastinating--you'd think I'd have perfected it by now--or really bad at journaling, which is supposedly my chosen perfection. Ay yai yai. It's just I'm having a hard time putting together an essay. I know what I want to say, but I don't know how to begin or how to say it. I've started four times at the most, with different approaches and they've all gone on tangents that are stretching the remotest relation to the topic at hand, that of weighing words.

One of my biggest problems as a writer, as those who regularly read this journal probably have noticed, is I tend to go off on tangents which then jump off to other tangents that may or may not have one tiny, tenuous thread throughout. Then I have the perplexing task of trying to wend my way back to the point I've been trying to make before going off on those several tangents, all the while trying to make it an intelligent, cohesive, flowing piece that runs full circle. *pauses and rereads that last sentence* Can anybody tell I've written way too many essays for school?

Anyways, I'm going to make one more go at that essay I think, and as I just told Emma, I'll stick with it and make it work somehow. I really feel strongly about my view of weighing words, and I want to get it said. I guess my other problem is I'm comparing my writing to that of the other miners in my group. With the exception of The Vistors, all my writings thus far for the mine have been essays instead of creative stories, like everybody else's. Now, I'm proud of my pieces, I am. They've been gold to me, either as nuggets or fine dust, but gold nonetheless. I just feel like the odd miner out is all--the one doing things her own way and not following the group.

But then again, there's another miner that while being creative with stories, she writes what she wants. (Of course, they're about mines and miners, so she sticks with the theme. However, she doesn't write what is assigned or suggested for exercises.) So I guess I'm really not the total odd man out then. I just have to settle down and organize what I want to say. Eh, perhaps I should sit down and do an outline or a plot web or whatever those bubbly word idea thingies are called...something web is all I know. I just might do that. See if I can keep to the point while providing interesting info and enough background/opinion for what I want to get across. Yes, I think I'll take a pen and notebook and do an outline...


Hold a true friend with both your hands.
~Nigerian Proverb~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE