Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I Love History. I Love This Country
12-31-2004 E 9:48 p.m.
Nature has its own sense of humor. It denied us a white Christmas--we were given a gray one instead--only to deem granting us a white New Year's. "Better late than never," it seemed to say as fat, wet snowflakes fell all afternoon like goose feathers released in a pillow fight. Though extremely cold and wet (if you were out in it at all), it was a beautiful sight. And a much needed and wanted one. Hope it sticks around a bit.
**********
I love history. I love this country. I am glad to be American. By no means do I think it's best above all others, however. I am not blind to our darker moments in time, such as the dispicable treatment of the Indians or the enslavement of the African people. But I am a patriot nonetheless and darn proud of it. We have an amazing country, its framework formed by outstanding, inspired men who knew the value of freedom, of happiness...and the responsibility we as citizens have in keeping and protecting them. We have so many rights, so many priveleges; we are truly blessed.

Today, Mom, Jon and I saw National Treasure at the theater with Natalie and her family. I LOVE that movie. I couldn't believe how funny it was, or how many times the bad guys just left them--Nicholas Cage and his friends--in tight spots without killing them! In most other action films the bad guys try to fulfill their intent on killing the good guys. Of course, they don't succeed, but sometimes they do kill the person or people closest to the hero. There was also no swearing or sex in it, a refreshing change. But it was the American icons, the factual historical references to the Knights Templar and the Free Masons, and of course, the story itself that made the movie a favorite. (Hence, the 'I love history' comment.) It was fascinating how they wove a bit of historical fact about these two brotherhoods with a bit of our early history and the symbols of our great nation--the Declaration of Independence, the Liberty Bell, Trinity Church and clips of the momuments in D.C.--to make a wonderful, exciting legend for a treasure hunt. Just seeing those icons of ours brought a thrill pride and gratitude for what our forefathers accomplished on our behalf. It's an awesome movie and one I want for my collection.

I'm also reading, as you may have seen in my "interests" fields, The Da Vinci Code. It's in the same vein or genre as National Treasure. But, of course, this takes place in Europe and deals with the symbology Leonardo da Vinci supposedly put in his Christian paintings. (Did he? I've heard he has, but I'm not sure if it's just rumor that the author has used for the purpose of this book, or fact.) Either way, it makes for a fascinating read and I love learning the tidbits of history that are fact. Leonardo da Vinci, I'm finding was an interesting person.

Happy New Year's all! Let's make it a good one.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE