Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
20 Perks for Being in a Wheelchair (1-10)
12-30-2004 E 5:05 p.m.
Emma started a Yahoo! group for people with Cerebral Palsy (C.P.) not too long ago. Really, though, anybody can join--I think. If you have a disability other than C.P. that's ok. If you're a friend or relative of someone who has or had a disability then you're eligible to join too, I think. Her goal or desire in creating this community was to foster friendships with other people in similar situations, to talk and share with others our experiences and feelings as to our personal situations or disabilities. To help each other cope and learn better ways of dealing with whatever is our personal trial. There are 12 members to date, and Emma has been trying for more participation. She has suggested chatting and remembering birthdays, so we can move it to a personal level, at least a tiny bit. I think this is still relatively new for most, so they are shy about participating. Either that, or they just don't know what to make of this group yet and don't know what to expect.

Today she mentioned doing a "100 Reasons Why C.P. Rocks" exercise. While I can't say it rocks, like Ella Enchanted does, there are some...perks...to being in a wheelchair. So, I present to you the beginning of a list of perks for the wheelchair...

20 Perks for Being In a Wheelchair
�����(1-10, the Women's version)

1) If you need lifting or carried up and down the stairs, it's a great way to meet cute guys and end up in their arms--or over their shoulders. (*waggles eyebrows* Merry Christmas and Happy New Years to me!)

2) You can have wheelchair races in the aisles of Wal-Mart, or other stores with wide aisles.

3) If a class or theater is full, you still can get in 'cause you bring your own seat with you. It's with you wherever you go.

4) People offer to open doors and do other stuff for you if you can't do them yourself. It's also a great way to hide your laziness. (*winks*)

5) You can be the pace setter for your friends and relatives who are on a biking/walking regimen. (*evil grin*)

6) You always have a ready lap for a cute guy to fall into as you oh so innocently bump into him. "Oops, sorry." Mmmuuuaahh! (*kiss*)

7) Your wheelchair is a readymade babysitter for young kids, at least for awhile. (I'm serious. This thang really fascinated my cousins at my grandparents' 50th wedding anniversary open house. They were three to five year of age at the time, and all three lil girls wanted rides. So, while everyone else visited I took the lil girls around the church--where the party was held--one on my lap, one walking to the side and one riding on behind, standing on the motor or batteries' cover and holding onto the handle bars. Once we completed a circuit, we'd rotate who got a ride and who walked.)

8) (This comes from Emma and has more to do with a disability than a wheelchair, but--) If you lose your temper, you can blame a punch on a muscle spasm. "Oops, so sorry. It's a just spasm; I can't control them when they happen."

9) In some theaters, you get in free when you go to a matinee--and you often get zee best seat.

10) You don't slip and fall on zee ice and snow--although you can slide and fishtail--your own cheap thrill ride! Yaaahhooo!!

More will come as I think of them. Also, I limited it to 20 because I seriously doubt I can come up with a 100 things. I hope you've enjoyed the beginning as much as I have. The second half is found here.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE