Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Strangers In a Car
02-15-2004 E 8:02 p.m.
Hiya!! *waves*

Yesterday was miserable for the most part, and so I needed something to calm down and mellow out to. Marc Cohn is wonderful for doing just that. His voice is what I imagine whisky to be like: soothing, smooth and golden, husky and warming you ever so nicely as it goes down. He is one of my favorites and his voice just warms me through and through to my soul and outward again. And last night he came through for me again, just like always.

Strangers In A Car
There's a stranger in a car
Driving down your street
Acts like he knows who you are
Slaps his hand on the empty seat and says
"Are you gonna get in
Or are you gonna stay out?"
Just a stranger in a car
Might be the one they told you about

Well you never were one for cautiousness
You open the door
He gives you a tender kiss
And you can't even hear them no more--
All the voices of choices
Now only one road remains
And strangers in a car
Two hearts
Two souls
Tonight
Two lanes

You don't know where you're goin'
You don't know what you're doin'
Hell it might be the highway to heaven
And it might be the road to ruin
But this is a song
For strangers in a car
Baby maybe that's all
We really are
Strangers in a car
(Driving down your street)
Just strangers in a car
(Driving down your street)
Strangers in a car

Marc Cohn

This is one of the songs on the CD I have. One reason (besides his voice) I like Marc Cohn is because many of his songs are ballads, which invoke vivid pictures and speak directly to the soul.

This song, to me, is an analogy for life. Often times we jump into things without really knowing what we're doing or where we'll end up. It's as he sings, Hell it might be the highway to heaven/And it might be the road to ruin. We don't know. We're just goin' through life, trying to find something worthwhile or someone to complete us. It's a song of searching. Searching for that elusive something, and at the same time it's asking us what do we really know? Do we even know, or how well do we know the people going through life beside us?

Heather and I have been friends for about four or five years. I thought I knew her well enough (as she's my best friend), but it hasn't been until these last few months that I realized I did not know her as well as I'd once thought. It's a mark of how our friendship's grown since that I now know her to the depth I do. And I feel honored to be trusted with the knowledge and insight into her soul that she's given me. Thank you, Heather, for being the "Stranger in my car" at this time in my life.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE