Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Impressions Put Down
01-26-2002 E 6:35 p.m.
Impressions of the day:
      -- 10:05 a.m.-> My missionary is home! My missionary is home!
      -- 12:45 p.m.-> What a way to ruin a mood. MSN sucks!
      -- 1:30 p.m.-> an epiphany: I can do the assignment on Hershey!
      -- 5:30 p.m.-> Banged hand on edge of desk accidentally. Bruised knuckle and pain courses through finger and hand.

Wednesday we were assigned to design a figure and table in Writing. They can be on any info we can find. With all that was going on trying to get the house in shape, it was hard to get any homework in. Remember it was, "We gotta get this house cleaned." So I waited till today. But wanted to get email outta the way. Imagine my delight when, as I scrolled down the list of advertisers, I read unicorn_rm. (RM stands for returned missionary in LDS slang.)

I knew it could only be one person. There is only one person I know who would use "unicorn" as a nickname and add "rm" to the end of it. Lynda. She's home, she's home! My sis is home! I silently celebrated as I waited for the computer to laboriously pull up her message on the screen. She's doing well. She got home last week, and yesterday was the first chance she had to email me.

No sooner had I sent her a reply than Darren IMed me from MSN. By this time I was moving to yahoo to see what messages I had there. My computer was slow as I was trying to three things at once. And in the meantime MSN kicked me off. It's done that more frequently ever since I downloaded one of the newer editions of the messenger. And I hesitate to download the most recent because it seems I have more trouble with newer versions of certain programs. So to me they aren't worth all the newfangled capabilities they come with.

MSN kicking me off ruined the mood that had developed between us. We had been in the middle of a deep conversation where we agreed one needs to care (inspite of getting hurt) in order to reach his/her highest potential.

"It is the essence of life," he said.

How simply put.

After I came back I tried to regain the mood with saying, "There are some guys I've wished I never met, but glad I did even though I got hurt. They taught me I have strengths I never knew I had."

It kinda got deep again, but then he had to go.

Which was kinda good, cause I needed to look up info for the assignment. I wanted to do something fun and different. Up until this afternoon I had no idea what to do the figure and table on. I thought about the circulation stats on a newspaper. But that sounded boring to anyone outside the print medium. And besides, what newspaper would I do that would interest my professor? Without really knowing what I was looking for I typed in an address at random: Hershey's.com. The only remotely useful and slightly different angle I could come up with on the consumer info was its seasonal sales. It gave bright reports on the growth in 2000. (Apparently Hershey's hasn't updated its report to include 2001.) Anyways, it grew 8% and "accounted for 34% of total [the candy] industry sales."

But then it fails to give the previous figure from which the sales expanded! Eight percent more than what!? The report then breaks the seasons into Valentine's Day, Easter, Back to School/Halloween and Christmas. Again there is a lack of detail in giving numbers in each season. Within each season, each type of candy is divided into categories: presentation boxes (ie. Hershey's Pot of Gold), brand bags (ie. bite sized Snickers in a bag), novelty items, assorted brand bags and the single serve (candy bars).

The lack of detail with the numbers put an end to the idea of comparing seasons within the industry as a whole. But as I wrote down the info that I could use, a pattern started to emerge. A comparison between each category of candy among the seasons. So that's what I'll be doing.

Ah yes, my hand. I'm wearing slipper socks, and let me tell you they grip! The rubber snowflakes made it difficult to slide and and lift my foot up onto the heel strap of the footrest (I wanted to relieve pressure on my heel and let it hang off the edge). I then tried using my hand to lift it up and back. I lost my grip--WHOMP!

My hand smacked the edge of my desk. Pain radiated like shockwaves down my index finger and up my hand. I now have red marks on the first two knuckles and a bruise purpling the first. It also hurts to rub my nose with that finger.

And now for the cour de force. The Olympic Torch will make its way through our humble town of "Iceburg" tomorrow at 7 a.m. To celebrate, the town had a whole day of snow games and contests over at Smith Park today then shot off a few fireworks. Kinda exciting to know the Torch will pass through your town.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE