Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Entry 2: How Can I Live Without Her?
02-11-2003 E 6:05 p.m.
Ok, topic two. Actually this was my original topic, but that's the way it goes when I get sidetracked. As my journal may show throughout the myriad entries I have, I love the lighter side of life. I don't much care for serious dramas like Danielle Steele's or some shows you see on tv. Some people would see this as an escape or running away from reality.

I don't. I see it as enjoying life on the light side, the good side, where laughter and smiles come readily. Dreams, and I'm a self-admitted dreamer, dwell and are born on this "light side," I think.

True, we need the serious to appreciate the lofty, to be grateful for and all the more treasure and perhaps attain our dreams. We cannot enjoy one without the other making a moment in our lives more poignant(sp?).

I've often been told I live in a fairy tale world. Perhaps I do. If that means enjoying mythology, spoofs such as The Pirate Movie and actual fairy tales, laughing and joking a lot and letting my imagination free rein, then yes, I do! *proud lift to chin*

Mom made the comment last night that I do, indeed, live in a fairy tale world. It hurt and stung. I angrily retorted, "Either I don't know how to use a joking tone or you take me too seriously when I say stuff like that." (I was referring to my comment of hurrying up with washing my face and brushing my teeth so I could see The Nanny's wedding episode.)

Heck, I know I dream. But I deal with reality everyday in my disability, my seizures and whenever I hear my family's assessment of my capabilities. I think about it when I think about my future, which is quite often.

I cooled down and questioned myself. What is wrong with living in a fairy tale world? What is wrong with being a dreamer? What is wrong with me the way I am? The answer: nothing.

Unless that is all you do. There needs to be a balance somewhere, and I think I have some sort of balance. Of course, someone may read this and laugh, thinking Yeah right, Shi. They can see the situation from the outside, but being the person in question, I'm too close to zee issue to see the whole thang clearly.

I love being a dreamer. I love the joy laughing and simple things bring. LOL. This whole thang has sorta snowballed. I only meant to say briefly that being a dreamer, I love spoofs, such as The Pirate Movie, so that's why I'm adding this song from the soundtrack as part of Valentine's week. It was to introduce the song. Oops, I went overboard kinda huh? Anyways here's the song:

How Can I Live Without Her?
I know she'll never understand.
I gave my word before we met,
So I just can't go breaking it.
She'll say she thinks I'm out of touch
I've let my duty, honorbound,
Come between the love we've found.

How can I live without her when she's all
I'm livin' for? (I'm livin' for)
How can I live without her, live like I did before?
Now I can see through her eyes
How good love could be
How can I live without her when she's gone?

No matter what the future brings,
I'll hold the memories in my heart
No matter how long we're apart.
She'll always be the only one,
Her name forever on my lips
She's slipping through my fingertips.

How can I live without her when she's all
I'm livin' for? (I'm livin' for)
How can I live without her, live like I did before?
Now I can see through her eyes
How good love could be
How can I live without her when she's gone?

I love this song. I think it's my second favorite from the movie. For those of you who are familiar with the opera The Pirates of Penzance, this is a spoof of that opera. Frederick, the pirates' apprentice, sings this song. The pirates want to plunder his love's family castle, and she wants him to fight on their side against zee pirates. But he's under contract to the pirates until he is 21. (He was born on Leap Day, Feb. 29th, so he's only five and a quarter! Oh, the irony!) *grins*

This song kind of reminds me of the Indian epic we just read in World Lit., the Ramayana. The hero, Rama, was also duty and honorbound, but by conventions of society in ancient India. Against his desire, he had to repudiate Sita, his wife twice even he knew and the gods told him she was faithful and virtuous. (She'd been kidnapped by the evil Ravana and been living in his household. Thus, her virtue was questioned.) According to Hindu dharma--a code of righteous conduct involving duty and ethics--you are to do as duty demands, putting the good of the society before your personal desires. So even though he didn't want to Rama rejected his beloved Sita.

Frederick himself wouldn't go against his duty because, as he told Mabel, that's all he had. That's all that separated him from the pirates' baseness. For both men honor was everything, though they loved their women with all their hearts.

Geesh I was long-winded again, wasn't I? *blush* I hope you could follow...


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE