Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Super Heroes and a Song
05-04-2002 E 12:55 p.m.
Hallo. This is going to be an odd entry. A song and a commentary about super heroes. We all know I'm an addict to 80s music. LOL I seem to be needing to recapture the musical aspect of my youth lately. I have listened to most of my CDs from the 80s over the past week. I love most of 'em. There's this one song though that, I dunno, I seem to have an affinity for, but I can't really relate to. The music on it is awesome and the lyrics make a statement. A relationship's ended and he's telling her he isn't going to take anymore lies. He tells her he knows what's going on; he can see everything.

The statement he makes is more a power trip. I am the maker of rules/Dealing with fools/I can cheat you blind. All in all this isn't a happy song. It's a power song. This is probably good for those who've been hurt like this guy has. But there's this undercurrent that disturbs me. Probably the romantic in me rebelling against the confrontation of a broken relationship. But whatever the case, I'm still attracted to this song. Perhaps by the very undercurrent that disturbs me. When I first read the title I thought of UFOs. LOL That idea kinda attracted me, then I started really listening to the words. Anyways here's the song:

Eye In the Sky

Don't think sorry's easily said
Don't try turning tables instead
You've taken lots of chances before
But I ain't gonna give anymore
Don't ask me
That's how it goes
Cause part of me knows
What you're thinkin'
Don't say words you're gonna regret
Don't let the fire rush to your head
I've heard the accusation before
And I ain't gonna take anymore
Believe me the sun in your eyes
Made some of the lies worth believing

Chorus
I am the Eye in the Sky
Looking at you
I can read your mind
I am the maker of rules
Dealing with fools
I can cheat you blind
And I don't need to see anymore
To know that I can read your mind
I can read your mind

Don't leave false illusions behind
Don't cry cause I ain't changing my mind
So find another fool like before
Cause I ain't gonna live anymore believing
Some of the lies
While all of the signs are deceiving
I am the Eye in the Sky...

Alan Parsons Project
Spider Man came out yesterday, and yes, I want to see it. At my comment and seeing the previews, Mom responded with a smile, "Great, now you can buy it and add it to your collection." (I have Batman and Batman Forever, The Shadow and The Phantom.)

I think I've seen just about every super hero movie ever made. I just love 'em for some reason. Perhaps I'm just like everyone else, drawn to the idea that someone (or a few) in our race have had it and go out there to fight crime. Of course, the element of mystique in secret identities adds to the attraction and the nifty weapons and tools or powers they use. The feeling of right conquering wrong makes us feel safer and restores faith in humanity.

As I was thinking about turning this into an entry, I started wondering why all these super heroes started popping up. Then I got thinking about the dates. Early 1930s or 40s. This was after the Great Wars and the Great Depression was spreading across the country. People needed hope. They needed an escape from their depressing reality. The Shadow was a regular radio show every week. Children, even families, gathered round the radio and listened avidly as their hero lurked in the shadows, fighting evil nemiseises with the help of his secret agents throughout New York.

I guess that's what keeps us going--hope. And in the fanciful minds of their creators, hope took the form of Spider Man, The Phantom, Captain America, Green Lantern, The Flash, The Shadow and my crush, Superman.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The eye does not see as well as the heart.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE