Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Insights Into the Hearts Of the Disabled
11-25-2005 E 11:12 a.m.
Feeling-- predatory
Reading-- Final Justice by Jasmine Cresswell
I'm grateful for-- people with courage and the sensitivity, as well as smarts, who don't fall into the trap of stereotypes and ignorance when around others who are different from them

The comic strip For Better or For Worse has continued to hit home for me over the last couple of days. Let me show you why:

Yesterday's strip

We (the disabled) are just like anyone else, of course. We like making friends and hanging out with them. We like being involved in social activities, and when our friends and others make an effort to include us or send us notes and cards and whatnot, it means a lot. Because many of us can't do or have to find a different way of doing an activity as fun and social as bowling, for instance, others just don't think about inviting us along when they go out. Unless they are close friends, distance-wise and friendship-wise. People don't seem to realize we get lonely too, that, depending on how many close friends we have nearby and how often we're able to visit and do things with them, we stay home quite regularly.

Take me, for example. I may do things or talk on the phone with the couple of friends I have around here once or twice, maybe three times, a month--three times is pushing it though. The rest of the time I'm stuck at home, entertaining myself when not going to physical and occupational therapy or watching Mom's team bowl on Thursdays. Meanwhile, the rest of my family goes out almost every night or every other night of the week. Can you see, then, why we are happy and excited to be a part of the fun? Why Shannon told April getting an email from anyone would be amazing? We just want to be needed and know our company is wanted and sought after. It gets old, rreeaall fast, to always, or almost always, be the ones who reach out, inviting others to do things with us. It's much nicer when friends and others meet us halfway.

Today's strip

Um, believe it or not, we do know. Some of the disabled are mentally slow, yes, either with learning disabilities (like Shannon) or with mentalities and characters of younger people. Some of them may not totally understand what is said about them, but they know their peers are talking--and that it's about them.

Same with those of us who are physically challenged and in wheelchairs. We know our peers talk about us; I had people talking about me in high school. All throughout school, to be precise. And unlike some of our counterparts who are mentally slow, some of us have no problem grasping what is being said. Our intelligence is on par with many of you who are considered "bright, smart, normal."

One of my pet peeves that incenses me like nothing else is the use of the word "retarded." Or "retard." To me, they're an insult of the highest degree. Their use, to me, is as predjudiced and revolting as the N-word is to a black individual. I know their meaning and how, originally, they weren't meant to be viewed this way (ie. predjudiced and derogatory), but because of the stereotype given to the disabled and the ignorance of some people (like Gerald) in regards to us, those words have become very hateful in my opinion. And I inform those around me I don't like hearing them, explaining why and then requesting that they don't use them.

I hope April stands by Shannon and continues fostering a friendship with her.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE