Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Vent and The Friday Five: Salon Talk
06-20-2003 E 1:30 p.m.
Heather and I had another interesting convo yesterday; this time because I was the one on one--did that make any sense? We have several interesting conversations online through the course of our time spent in cyberspace, which makes for a swift passage of time. Remember this one? Heather was the instigator that time.

I know friendships come, and friendships go. I know some fade, and some drift. I know some--well actually, a few--stand fast and pass the test of time. I don't how it is with guys (since I'm not one), but girls place a lot of emotional...value, for lack of a better word, towards friendships. And yes, what I described above regarding friendships, I know is par-for-the-course for either gender. But, from my own sad experience with Jason and hearing about a couple of Heather's friendships with guys she's known for a while now, I'm beginning to see a pattern among males. (Stephen did this too.)

It's a pattern that really irks me when I think about it. Unless a friendship is really strong between a man and a woman--and both parties want it that way and work to keep it that way--it'll fall apart or fade. This is natural, of course. The pattern I'm seeing is this: when a friendship spans both genders and starts to fade or drift, it's because the man doesn't find it as important as he once did or he's found a more interesting distraction, whether it's another woman or a new business venture or some other thing. It's been my experience that a relationship between a man and woman, however platonic, doesn't last long if the man isn't interested in being with the woman. What irks me, and this is what our conversation was about, is how a guy can just go about his life, get so involved in new things or new people and put old friends (who happen to be girls) on the back burner. They seem to have the attitude or mentality of "Oh she won't mind if we don't hang out too much. She knows I'm busy. I've got so much going on."

Ha! We understand the first 100 times we're placed last in your lives. We understand that anything can come up outta the blue and take precedence. It's the second and third 100 times that we don't and start seeing that we don't much matter anymore. We try to understand and since you're important to us as a friend, we work at keeping our friendships with you alive. But, as they say: "It takes two to tango."

**********
1) Is your hair naturally curly, wavy, or straight? Long or short?

Sad to say, it's straight. Although, it curls when it's wet. Currently it's long, and I'm stubbornly keeping it that way against my family's wishes that I cut it short again.

2) How has your hair changed over your lifetime?

It's gone from long (at my waist as a child) to short (to my shoulders as a pre-teen) to shorter (a bob hairstyle at 16) to shortest (collar-length at 19 or 20) to long again by degrees (starting four years ago). It's gone from baby blonde to drab medium brown to a nice glossy dark brown when I've been able to color it.

3) How do your normally wear your hair?

I normally wear it down, though I would love to have someone who loves to do hair help me fix it in a variety of ways now that it's long again.

4) If you could change your hair this minute, what would it look like?

I'd dye it again so it would have that dark glossy sheen to it. And perhaps fix it up cute somehow.

5) Ever had a hair disaster? What happened?

Has anybody ever not had a Bad Hair Day??? Does being mistaken for a guy from the back count? Twice? Even when your hairstyle was feminine?

Questions from The Friday Five.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Those who don't know how to weep with their whole heart don't know how to laugh either.
~Golda Meir~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE