Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Who Wants To Live Forever
03-08-2004 E 8:00 p.m.
Who Wants To Live Forever
There's no time for us. There's no place for us.
What is this thing that builds our dreams, yet slips away from us?
Who wants to live forever? Who wants to live forever?
There's no chance for us.
This world has only one sweet memory set aside for us.
Who wants to live forever? Who wants to live forever?
But touch my tears with your lips, touch my world with your fingertips,
And we can have forever, and we can love forever,
Forever is our today.
Who wants to live forever? Who wants to live forever?
Forever is our today!
Who wants to live forever? Who wants to live forever?
Forever is our today!
Who waits forever anyway...

Dune

Sometime ago I bought the two-CD compilation, The Celtic Circle. It's a wonderful collection of songs that reflect the Celtic peoples and their culture. Who Wants To Live Forever is a song on the second CD. Yesterday I put it in on a whim, not having heard it as much as the first. This song caught my attention with the soprano's voice and the key words Who wants to live forever.

At first it, and it still kind of does, reminded me of Abe. (*hears the sighs and squelched moans* Yes, yes another entry on Abe. And yes, I'm obsessed. Unfortunately.) He's into his Celtic heritage as I am. However, as he has separated himself from our church and no longer thinks of himself as a Christian, he has turned to the old Celtic beliefs. I believe I mentioned he is a druid. In that respect the song reminds me of Abe and the common link of our heritage.

In another, it's these two lines: Who wants to live forever and Who waits forever anyway... that remind me of him. As I've explained, I believe, he's been deeply hurt and his emotions run deep. Therefore, he's erected very tough, very strong and very high walls around himself to keep others at bay and he's perfected the lone wolf persona. Abe, I think, is one who lives very much in today. I don't think he worries about forever or the eternities. If he did, he still would consider himself a Christian. *thinks* On second thought, the ancient Celts believed that when the soul leaves the body upon death it finds another. The soul is eternal and never really dies, because it continually finds a body and goes from life to life. So, maybe he figures...he's covered in the eternities? I just see him living by or agreeing with the words, who waits forever anyway...

Abe and I are far from lovers and will never be. Yet the rest of the lyrics echo faintly daydreams I conjure of him and myself as friends. I guess they're a defense mechanism that helps get me past the rocky patches in the odd online relationship we have. He will never touch my tears with his lips or touch my world with his fingertips, but the dream-like quality of the song is something one cannot resist. It's so beautiful, so haunting, and yet so sad.

Who wants to live forever?/There's no chance for us./This world has only one sweet memory set aside for us./Who waits forever anyway... When applied to the daydreams I have of us these words just seem to point out what may never be between Abe and I. The kind of close and lasting friendship I revel in and that means so much and is so precious once you have it. Right away I sensed Abe's kindness and capacity to love--if he would but allow himself. He was kind to me and has kept in touch all these years, and I've tried hard to be patient and to show him I'm worthy of being a good friend, but in the interim things happened and he's redoubled his defenses. Many times it seems a futile attempt and I start despairing of getting past them to his heart. I think, Maybe it's not meant to be. Maybe I'm not the one who will find the chink in his wall. Maybe I should just give up.

But the stubborn lass in me refuses to quit and rallies with: No, I'll give him a few days... He's just being Abe. Just keep trying, keep praying. *1/2 smile at a sudden thought* Who waits forever anyway? I will, if I have to. Until the Lord says, "Cease."


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE