Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Christmas Greeting From a Fairy to a Child
12-08-2002 E 4:26 p.m.
'Kay folks, this was going to be a surprise for y'all next week, but whereas I may be out of town this coming weekend and am not sure I'll be back in time next Sunday to start this, I decided I'd do it this week.

For this week, as a way of sharing my holiday spirit with you my entries will be stories, songs or poems about the holiday season. The first one is by Lewis Carroll, involving fairies and a child.

* Christmas Greeting From a Fairy to a Child
Lady, dear, if Fairies may
For a moment lay aside
Cunning tricks and elfish play,
'Tis at happy Christmas-tide.

We have heard the children say,
Gentle children, whom we love,
Long ago on Christmas Day,
Came a message from above.

Still as Christmas-tide comes round,
They remember it again.
Echo still the joyful sounds
"Peace on earth, good-will to men!"

Yet the hearts must childlike be
Where such heavenly guests abide;
Unto children, in their glee,
All the year is Christmas-tide!

Thus, forgetting tricks and play
For a moment Lady dear,
We would wish you, if we may,
Merry Christmas, glad New Year!

Pretty sweet, huh?
******
The house now really looks like Santa's"White House." Most everythang's up, her Santas are out, and tomorrow Dad's promised to get my nutcrackers out to put around my room. Then I'll be Christmasfied too. Whoopee!=0}

What is it with some people thinking they know more than others do? Ok, some do, true, but why can't they acknowledge that others may know something more about something they don't?

I have been acquainted with the Internet for about six, maybe seven years now, was once very obssessed with it and I know some of the terminology. For example,

ISP-- Internet Service Provider. This is how you log on to the Internet. (i.e. AOL or Juno)

server-- a home site or point of origin (for lack of a better term) for a website. (i.e. Yahoo! for Yahoo! Mail)

Well, Friday night our ISP went down until Saturday afternoon--yesterday--(I know this is petty, but I'm curious) and Dad insisted it was the server, meaning the ISP, that was down. I tried explaining the difference between the two, but oh no. He's older, he's a man. He knows better than I do when it comes to computers. At least, that's the attitude he came across with. I gave up and let him think what he would.

And later on last night, Buffy was on. It was a rerun. I recognized it in the prelude before the theme song came on. "I've seen this. It's a rerun," I said.

"No it's not," Aubree, the obsessed Buffy fan, argued.

"Yes, it is."

When it came back on after commercials I let her watch it some more to get her to realize the truth.

"I haven't seen this," she insisted then contradicted herself by adding, "I still want to record this."

Then three minutes later: "Kailee's recording this for me. I don't want this recorded." She finally conceded it was a rerun.

Gee, you think I might know something?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length."
~Robert Frost~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE