Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Speaker Disrespected
03-08-2002 E 2:30 p.m.
King Ferdinand of Mepos dies while visiting Balki and Larry before he can lead the Liberation of Livestock Parade. Larry catches, therefore making him the king. They hatch a plot to make the Speaker of the Hut king by dropping the king into his arms. In the meantime they use wires to make it look like the king is alive. Larry is sitting on the sofa with the king and a coworker.

Lydia: (flirting with the king) You will save me a dance won't you?

Larry: (half under his breath) I don't think that's such a good idea. (louder) Right now, the king needs to mingle.

(Balki plays with the wires try to make him wave, making the king's arm and hand flop and hitting Larry's face in the process. Larry finally pushes the hand away and jerks the wire from Balki's hand.)

Larry: (glares and holds up a warning finger) Balki, a dead man is not a toy!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
It was funny when I saw it this morning. Those two got into the funniest predicaments on Perfect Strangers.

I'm hoping Mom's present from Amazon.com, the movie, comes today. I'm getting anxious to see her reaction. I have yet to hear from the bookstore on the other half of her gift. Or even about the purchase for myself. I looked at my account online and saw that both purchases went through so they should be arriving. I hope.

Yesterday we had a speaker visit the class. He fights for the Women's cause, which is cool. He had some really interesting points in the beginning, but somewhere in the middle he lost the brownie kind with some--well from the way many in the class just packing early and left a few minutes before our time was up--he lost them with most of the class. I can't remember what he said exactly, but it was something that glazed my eyes. He was attacking patriarchy, and saying Capitalism helped patriarchy supress(?) women.

To some extent they have and do. But I also see patriarchy from my church's view. It portrays women as being as important as men in the patriarchy. They just have different roles. Women are given the "errand of angels." It doesn't debase us; it exalts us. It looks at us women as equals in a different capacity or as helpmates.

Feminists have good points about problems with Capitalism and patriarchy. After all until reforms were made through the efforts of women and their supporters, males totally dominated the world without much opposition. Those two intertwining systems made/make the men's lives pleasurable. They give men every opportunity available, while they (in the past) have kept women in the home. Capitalism more so tries to keep women on a lower level of labor opportunity than men. As the speaker said, Capitalism likes control. Without control there is no profit.

It was just sad after that. He said things many of us didn't agree with in such a way that was almost autocratic. Since it's a televised class, you can't hear us w/o us punching our microphone buttons. So some of the class just started talking while the speaker still was. He had lost respect and credibility with many of us. And when the time was up we walked out of there. Disrespectful yes, but there was another class in 15 minutos. I felt bad, but he was talking in such a tone that turned me off and he went hopping from one tangent to the next and it was going over my head. I have never been in a class that a speaker was disregarded.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE