Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Cupid Got Us In the Last Laugh
02-09-2003 E 9:40 p.m.
I'm out of the fire!! *holds arms triumphantly* Both papers are done, one mailed and the other printed and stapled to hand in tomorrow. And, thanks to zee holidays coming up I'm homework free for a week!! Muahaha! *is a bit high on a pheromone(sp?) rush from the pleasure*

You wanna know something odd? I'm actually in the Valentine's mood and am looking forward to the holiday. *takes temperature and checks pulse* Other than my waning cold and persistant cough, I feel ok, but it's not normal for me to look forward to it. I mean, for quite a few years now I have been anti-Valentine's Day. Why be in the mood for a holiday that caters almost exclusively to couples and romance when you're quite painfully and obviously single? The hearts and bears or other stuffed animals bearing messages saying "I love you!" or "Be mine." and images of that cherubic love god only serve as a glaring reminder of just how single you are.

This has been my mentality up until this year. Some feminist friends of mine and I threw an anti-Valentine's Day party when I was still down at ISU. We wore gray or other muted colors--anything but pink or red. We watched movies that were not romantic and ordered a Papa Murphy's pepperoni pizza. That was where Cupid decided we'd gone too far. If he had his way, which he did, there was going to be some sort of symbol of his at our party. The pizza was in the shape of a heart. He had the last laugh.

But this year...I just don't know... I'm still very much single with no secret admirer in the wings or a promising prospect around the corner. I'm definitely not going to get a valentine from anyone other than my mother. For all intent and purposes, except for all the mushy movies airing on tv, it will be just another day. So why am I looking forward to Valentine's so much?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Before I built a wall I'd ask to know what I was walling in or walling out.
~Robert Frost~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE